Well that was unexpected

Apparently there was some sort of miscommunication and I had K again last night. If I’d known I was going to have her that long I’d have a) made sure to go get clothes for her and b) made sure there was more food in the house than I normally keep. At any rate we had a late lunch at IHOP (where I ate too much) and then really late she decided she wanted dinner so I made her some oatmeal. If she wakes up in time I’ll probably take her to McDonald’s for breakfast, since my normal fare of a piece of toast, a boiled egg, and ten grapes probably wouldn’t last a twelve-year-old very long.

K weighed again for the first time in a year and freaked out because she’s gained thirty pounds. I told her she was growing, and that she weighed what she was supposed to weigh and it was ok, but she was still on about it an hour later. Once I adjusted her height (because it’s been a year) in the scale software it showed her BMI in the low 20’s and her body fat % (to the extent the scale can be relied on for that) has actually gone down, so she really is fine. Maybe she’ll have forgotten about it by the time she wakes up.

I’ve got a raised bed planter I have to assemble and fill today so I can get my sweet corn planted. If that shows good progress I’ll set up another planter on the other side of the house for popcorn (don’t want ’em getting freaky with each other, lol), and next year I’ll swap out the sweet corn for field corn. I didn’t know you can’t make cornflour out of sweet corn or I wouldn’t have bought those seeds in the first place. If I have a decent harvest I’ll probably give some to my parents and Critter, and maybe Ember if I can get it to her. The popcorn isĀ all mine! Just kidding. If I can a) get it grown and harvested and b) dry it properly I’ll keep some for me (to pop and plant next year) but try to sell the rest. I figure if I can over-produce on my veggies I can maybe recover some or all of the growing costs from selling the excess, so the veggies will support themselves financially. Just because of where I am in Georgia I probably won’t be able to defray all the costs of my chickens and rabbits but I should be able to sell some of that stuff as well (eggs, live chicks, processed birds, rabbit manure, live bunnies, and excess rabbit meat). There’s a class I have to take in order to sell the eggs, but the rabbit thing is basic Farmer’s Market kind of stuff.

I really need to set up a rainwater harvesting system if I’m going to do a lot of gardening since the summer rains are hit and miss lately. Either we’re under burn restrictions or we’re under a flood watch, there hasn’t been much in between the past few years. I shouldn’t need a whole lot of storage since I plan on using soaker hoses in the raised beds, but I’ll do the math on all that later. Time to shower and get dressed and then shake the young ‘un out of bed for breakfast.

Log in to write a note