…and then she jumped.

 I pinched my nose closed, squeezed my eyes shut tight, sucked in a deep breath and then took the biggest leap of my life!  
.
.
.
.
.

I am now, officially, a college student!  

I know!  Scary, right??  Well, it’s scary for me!  I haven’t been in school in nearly 30 years!  

I can honestly say that, for me, this is scarier than getting married, having a baby, making an investment and even scarier than teaching my kids how to drive!!

It’s scary for several reasons:  1. Did I mention I haven’t been in school in nearly 30 years?; 2. My brain suffers from CSR (can’t remember shi…stuff); 3. I already have such a busy schedule, "what am I thinking??"; 4. I will be in classes for nearly 6 hours on Mondays and for 8 hours on Wednesdays – when will I take my nap??; 5. Thinking of school gives me flash-back-tummy-aches.

But…I did it anyhow.  I took the plunge.  My first day of classes is just 2 weeks away.  I’ll be an Allied Health student studying for the Diagnostic Medical Sonography program.  It’s supposed to be a two year course that ends with an Associate degree but, because I was such a slacker as a High School student, I have tons of prerequisites to get through before I can start my core subjects.  Besides, there’s a two year waiting list to get into the program.  So…yeah.

Math was, and possibly still is, my nemesis.  It’s the one class that scares me the most.  Since I failed Algebra so horribly in High School, I’m starting out with Pre-Algebra as a refresher course to get me back into the whole "numbers with letters" frame of mind.  Then there’s all the medical classes – which I’m just as excited about as I am scared.  

Oh my!

I’m actually pretty good at treading water but I can’t help but wonder if I’m getting in over my head.  I need to float for a bit and take some deep breaths.  

Until next time…

Log in to write a note
sol
August 13, 2013

congrats, that’s a big step in life

Congratulations! I’m very supportive of people going back to school at any age. Good luck, and I hope you love it!

Wonderful! I have been toying with getting my Masters,..but then again, I often think of maybe just writing a book. I am still paying for my Bachelors. LOL

August 13, 2013

Best of luck. You will do great…

Lisa, I am SOOOOO proud of you!!!! I really mean it! You are going to do just great, I just know it! ((BIG HUGS))

August 14, 2013

you can do this!!!! I got my bachelor’s and am going to grad school for my master’s…..at 49.5! You can do this…..just BREATHE

August 17, 2013

Go get ’em. 🙂

If it means a better job and life, it is a terrific move. I think you can do it.

August 18, 2013

You can do it! My friend got her bachelor’s in special ed and she worked full time while going to school so it was rough. She now has a teaching job and is going for her master’s. You won’t regret it.

Well congratulations and good luck! I’ve always admired people that go back to college.