Don’t…

 When I was gainfully employed I got a new paper shredder for the office. It struck me funny that they had to put a symbol on the thing not to shred children. I understand the wider interpretation but leave me my amusement. No, do not insert children into the paper shredder.

Got up at 2am with the kind of headache that makes you violently ill. It has been a few years since I did that. Hubbin saved the day by digging through the mysterious tangle of boxes that might or might not be Christmas presents for me. Not many surprises for me this year because aMaZ0N send me emails asking me how I like the ____ I ordered. Ptooey! On the other hand I used k0H1S this year to hide the obvious. That means Hubbin bought himself “presents” and even suggested I wrap them so he can get something he wants. He thinks I haven’t bought him anything. He’s sometimes the cross between a moody 5 year old and a black Lab when it comes to his emotional stuff. Don’t wrinkle any food wrapper around him for starters and give up on being insulted by his FOMO. Sometimes its not about you. That said, I was feeling kind of rough this moring and he saves me with a huge box of Gevalia and a trip to the store for pedialyte. I have not touched the pedialyte but I’ve managed to wrap some of the presents and get a load of mess out of my house.

Somebody suggested the other day that the holidays are incredibly hard for other people particularly this year and we shouldn’t publicly enjoy ourselves because this will be hurtful. As a person who is chronically depressed during the holidays, even when absolutely nothing is wrong, I’m not sure how “let’s take the happy people down a peg so we can all be unhappy together” really makes the situation better. Take your joys where you can find them. Deferred gratification (other than laying low and not making other people sick until we find a solution to current problems) is bullcrap. Maybe the only thing you find good in your life today is an individually wrapped Lifesaver in your pocket. Do not pass it up. Suck all the life out of that saver you can, not out of other people’s joy. The orange mint ones are really good BTW.

 

 

Log in to write a note
kat
December 10, 2020

that is pretty funny!

December 10, 2020

and so are the wintergreen flavors….

I know people who could care less about the holidays they are just another day. I am beginning to feel that too….

December 10, 2020

I love this and will never look at Lifesavers the same again. In fact, I’m going to buy some for all my stockings this year.

That’s bullshit. You should enjoy the hols and try to make the others happy in some way too!

December 10, 2020

😎

December 10, 2020

The holidays are roughon so many people but how do you know your joy or happiness or cheer won’t help someone feel better? Ugh this world anymore. Ridiculous.

 

Enjoy that chocolate orange Lifesaver 😉

December 10, 2020

LOL at the shredder

December 11, 2020

Please do not ever suppress your joy for people (like me) who are struggling.  i’m like a joy vampire and i need to feed.

 

Love you!