How to Choose the Sex of Your Children

I made this up, of course, but that’s how everything gets started… with an idea. We can also call it a dream. If nothing conflicts with this dream, then it becomes truth.

There is no experimental basis for this, but in terms of evolution, it makes perfect sense. There are examples in nature where sex is determined by environmental factors. These examples are found mostly in insects, reptiles, and amphibians. I won’t dwell on any details, except that I’m getting old and can’t remember them.

Anyway, let’s start with a small population of ten males and one female (Case #1). How important is it that this lone female have daughters instead of sons? It’s very critical. It really is life or death for this population.

If we start with a population of ten females and one male (Case #2), it becomes just as imperative that these ten females initially crank out a few males. More life or death.

What is the main difference between these two scenarios?

It’s the age of the sperm when ovulation takes place. In other words, male sperm live longer than female sperm. An additional factor could be that female sperm swim faster than male sperm. In case #1, the lone female is always full of fresh sperm… lots of female sperm… with high vitality… producing female offspring. In case #2, the ten females all hold older sperm… mostly aged male sperm… producing male offspring.

It’s that simple. What an evolutionary advantage over those 50/50 ratios. Put that in your Petri dishes and count them.

My favorite example of this idea working with humans is with a couple friends I have who work a long distance away from home. They get two or three weeks on… and then two or three weeks off. Both of them have three sons, no daughters. Off to work they went, leaving only old male sperm to be around when their spouse ovulates.

I do enjoy applying this hypothesis when babies are born. I do feel it is applicable quite often… better than 50/50.

So I’m posting this to see if any readers in here find this hypothesis working or not working for them, or with the people they closely know. Thank you.

Log in to write a note
February 21, 2018

That’s the opposite of what the current gender swaying thought process is. Since female sperm are larger (x chromosomes are considerably larger than Y chromosomes), they are thought to swim slower. They also live longer. So if you have sex a few days before ovulation, the male sperm will be dead and you’re more likely to conceive a girl. If you have sex during or right after, the faster swimming male sperm are more likely to fertilize the egg.

When I was using donor sperm, I did the insem during/after ovulation. I had a boy.

February 22, 2018

@nursiemom Thanks for your note. I think I read those same in vitro conclusions back in the 70’s. I also have no idea what freeze-thaw cycles would do to sperm. I hope you wanted a boy.

*tx
February 22, 2018

Interesting

*tx
March 1, 2018

You ok? Hope you’re gonna stick around. This place is different but still pretty cool. I like it here.

March 16, 2018

You were one of my favs on the old OD. I hope you decide to stay.

k

April 10, 2018

Nice to read you again…It’s be for like forever…welcome to my world…