Repressed memories

I was shocked as an adult to find out that repressed memories are largely scientifically discredited.

I was so shocked because I experienced repressed memories multiple times in my life.

When I was 7 years old my family went to my grandmother’s house for a holiday meal and I met my father’s aunt and uncle from Florida for the first time.

Long story short my dad’s uncle did some extremely inappropriate things to me. After the inappropriate event occurred, I  fell asleep.

I woke up at home and thought it was just a gross dream. I didn’t even remember meeting my dad’s aunt and uncle or the events of that night.

Dozens of times between age 7 and 14, I had the same gross dream which further solidified my thought that it was just a gross dream.

But then when I was 14, I was in the backyard swimming and I came up out of the water and there he was Uncle Howard. His old gross wrinkly face, he said “Jennifer my little sweetheart I know you remember me”

I was stunned I literally couldn’t even speak. There’s the monster from my nightmares right in front of me.

I didn’t remember exactly what happened until I was in my 20s.

My mother never really took good care of us. She didn’t really dress us very well or keep us clean.

I was wearing a dress that day at my grandmother’s house but I didn’t have on any panties.

And Uncle Howard put me on his knee and was bouncing me up and down and noticed that I didn’t have any panties on.

It’s so disgusting because we were singing Jesus loves the little children when this occurred.

A while later Uncle Howard whispered in my ear that he had a surprise for me but he didn’t have a surprise for everyone else only for me so we had to keep it a secret and he told me that after dinner I should say I don’t feel good and that I want to go lay down.

A few minutes later Uncle Howard announced that he didn’t feel well and he was going to bed without dinner he went into my grandparents bedroom and went to sleep in a lazy boy that was situated next to the bed.

Again long story short I went in there after dinner and he did inappropriate things to me & I fell asleep afterward.

Outside of the nightmares, I had absolutely no memory of the event or the chronological order in which things unfolded until I was about 25.

And even then it didn’t happen all at once. It happened over a few years.

 

 

Log in to write a note

Ugh. I have repressed memories too of the abuse inflicted on me by my foster family.