Rest in paradise Daddy

I lost my father this past Monday July 11th 2022.

My mother and father met in the early 70s had eight children together and were married all the way until my father’s death this past Monday.

He passed gently at home with my sister and my mother by his side.

My mother is a trooper she’s handling it much better than all of the kids.

Because my father and I were never close, I’m very surprised at how difficult this has been for me.

In a way I was his scapegoat… He bullied me most of my life… I used to think that he didn’t love me at all. As a woman, I know better now.

He was tough on me because I was the only girl for a long time.

And then he continued to be tough on me because I was hanging out with the wrong crowd and going down the wrong paths.

If my father didn’t jump on me and ground me the way he did I probably would have ended up in prison at some point.

Fortunately I was able to say goodbye properly.

The last time I saw my father alive I held his hand and told him that I loved him and he told me that he loved me too.

 

 

Log in to write a note
July 14, 2022

Sorry for your loss 🥲

July 14, 2022

I am sorry to hear this. I know that no words can make the gaping hole left behind when a loved one transitions away from you feel better. I am so glad that you got to say goodbye, this is a beautiful thing. I am so happy do you hear that he passed away gently with family at the side of him. I hope to see a larger and more common embrace of dignity in the days of dying in my lifetime. Many people live in denial and kick and scream up into the end. Not usually the dying person, but usually the family members. It seemed like our culture sees it as a statement of us not wanting them to leave. I hope that by the time I dye my community and or the general American common reaction to those times that threaten end of life is healthier. I hope that I see people who learn that accepting end of life, and granting the dying person some comfort and dignity, does not mean that they are accepting end of life because they are not sad/bruised about the prospect of their loves ones ceasing to be alive.

July 14, 2022

I am so sorry for your loss. 🙁

July 15, 2022

I’m so sorry for your loss