Catch Up Entry

It has been nearly a month since I have written an entry. In fact, I have only written a few this year.  I could pretend it’s because I’ve been busy but I just haven’t felt like writing. I’ve been a bit lax in my yoga practice lately also so perhaps I’m just in a phase of "doing" instead of "being".  A lot of things have been happening. I’ll list them and perhaps elaborate on some if I feel like it.

  1. I just got back from a N Carolina trip last night. I had a meeting with my global team. The temperature hit upper 70’s!
  2. Justin sent in his admission fee to Ohio State University. He also just got notified he got a bigger scholarship!
  3.  
  4. Justin’s band won the preliminary "Lorain County Rock Off". They play against 4 other bands in April sometime for the county championship. The winner gets to play at the House of Blues. I may miss the competition due to an Asia trip. There has been a little rift between the band members lately so I’m not sure where that’s going.
  5. The squirrel living in the house has been eating peanuts from our back door nearly every day.
  6. My dad’s birthday was yesterday. I’ll call him this morning.
  7. I picked up a sore throat this week. So far no sinus infection. If that’s the case it will be the first illness I’ve had in probably 10 years that was not connected to the sinuses.

 

I got a new computer. AMD 64 duel processor. I’ve loaded up 100+ CD’s onto it and have it playing through my Bose system.  I’m crrrently listening to a play list with all the Brandenberg’s except I’m missing a couple of the movements. I’m also really pleased that I can download my credit card directly into my new version of Quicken. Just one of many things my old computer was not capable of doing easily.

One of the neatest features is the Windows XP Media Player Edition operating system. It comes with a remote that even Diane is not intimidated by. She can point at the machine and a turn it on. A screen comes up asking with several options such as "Play Music", Watch TV, etc. She had no trouble operating it and seemed to like tha fact that she could select any of her albums by toggling to a picture of  the album cover and pressing "Play".  There is an FM tuner built in so I can play radio and TV right on the machine.  I bet I’ll be able to move her from the remote to a mouse and then to other features on the computer.  I need to program the "one touch" button for e-mail and such to make things even easier.

Well, that completes my mind dump for now. I’m sure there are other things I need to capture but I’ll think of them as soon as I hit "save".

 

Log in to write a note
March 4, 2006

Nice to see you again! Hey, you’ll have Diane chatting on line soon! Ummm, what happened to #3? And Kudos to Justin for his scholarship…

March 4, 2006

Congrats on getting a new computer… new speed and all those bells and whistles… Zowie!… I think you got it backward in your opening paragraph, actually you’ve been “being” some instead of just “doing”, huh? Glad to hear the lad and his music buddies got in the winner’s circle. Hope they continue on winning… hoping your health status gets better… sore throat goes quick like… love..