Back on the Wagon

Ok, I’m going to make more of an effort to get on here, probably at least once a week if for nothing else than to at least talk about the various media I’m enjoying that week. Unfortunately, that means we have a lot of catching up to do. That’s the proverbial ‘we’ because I’m sure not many people are going to notice or read this giant entry, but that’s ok. I’m just putting it out there, getting it out of my head, and seeing where it takes me. 

First off, last therapy visit my therapist was talking about not being afraid to take action and moving in directions that follow my values and what I want to do with my life. We talked about forming or joining a writing group, and I’m sure there’s a million here in Portland, but the main one I found looks huge and intimidating and confusing. Also, forming my own will take time as I have to find good, reliable, similar-minded people to form a group with. However, I did take a scary action by signing up for a witchy craft show in October as a vendor to sell the crochet voodoo dolls I make. This felt like a huge step and I immediately felt excited about it and have been steadily working on voodoo dolls ever since so I actually have something to sell and adding them to my new etsy page. I have about 9 completed right now, but I need so much more. Hopefully I’ll have a good stock before I have to go out and sell them. 

In other news, this weekend was Rose City Comic Con! We sat through a lot of panels, through which I crocheted steadily. I was most excited about Kristin Bauer from True Blood and once again seeing Felicia Day because I find her very inspiring and wonderful. We saw David Tennant again, and I saw John Barrowman for the first time and was completely overwhelmed by his level of nonsense. He was so loud and so over the top I messed up my crocheting at least five times and had to start over. There was no concentrating on anything else when he was around. Catherine Tate was next after him and she was pretty funny and interesting. 

We ended up with two extra weekend passes to comic con so we gave one to my friend and coworker B, and then Reed suggested we give the other one to our sort of friend and former coworker Sean. While B was excited and came with us and had a really good time and was lots of fun, Sean acted like I don’t know what. He checked out periodically and did his own thing (which was fine), but then made B give him a ride on Saturday, and would come and go in the middle of panels, and then didn’t even bother to show up on Sunday. He was really annoying when he was hanging around with us, and overall was a terrible choice to give the weekend pass to, but oh well. Hope he had fun. 

On Sunday, we spent the last afternoon of comic con shopping around the showroom floor and I spotted one of our coworkers, R. I really like R and think she’s really nice and fun and I enjoy working with her. I had also invited her to come to the  con with us several months ago and she had wanted to but then had to babysit for her brother. Then recently that fell through and she thought she might go, but here she definitely was, and with L of all people. L is a coworker I really dislike. He’s a white, straight, male of a certain age who tries to be extremely charming and raises all the red sociopath flags for me, and who suddenly became like the second most important manager at our store after just being a bookseller like everyone else for the last year. B had been hoping to get that job, especially since she’d worked there significantly longer and had more training and experience and a degree, but without any warning or notice L was slid into that position and it made many of us seriously question the management of our store and their decisions. Anyway, I was surprised to see him there and when I came up to say hi I realized that for some reason the situation was extremely awkward and B kind of just came up, said hi, and ushered us away. She explained later that L and R were seeing each other. This was a big bomb dropped on me, as I thought L had already had a gf (he did, he moved on) and I couldn’t believe R would fall for his sleaze and the whole situation just kind of bothered me. It’s totally none of my business, and I don’t know why I’m letting it bug me so much, but it did and it does and L is a sleazy scumbag from hell, corrupting everything he touches. 

Ok, moving on…

I started listening to Felicia Days podcast, Felicitations, and I find it interesting and enjoyable. She inspired me to get back on here. I was especially pleased to learn that she like organizing her stuff and bags and bank slots on Warcraft just as much as I do, and likes going around picking herbs and mining ore. Online hoarding and organizing is totally my favorite thing. 

I’m supposed to be reading Brain on Fire for book club, but I’ve been making voodoo dolls on an endless loop so I’ve had little time. Book club is next weekend, tho, and the last time I failed to read the book group member D got really upset and continues to hold it against me to this day, over a year later. 

I’ve also been watching Passion of the Nerd’s Buffy Guide on Youtube. I loved Buffy and Buffy analysis (as evident from my previous entry) and I have been enjoying these little videos. I’m impatient for him to get to Season 6. B was bugging me to continue watching Angel, as I got somewhere through the first season and gave up on that garbage, but she said it would be totally worth it to hang in there with it, so I’m going to catch up with Passion of the Nerd’s Angel guides and then start watching again. Hopefully. I’m so not enthused about this, however. 

We just watched the season finale of Making It, with Amy Poehler and Nick Offerman. For those of you who have not seen this masterful show, I highly recommend it. Its enjoyable and lovely in a Great British Bake Off kind of way, and Reed and I love crafting and making things anyway so its right up our alley. 

I’ve been playing Warcraft, as I missed it. However, I can’t afford the new expansion so I just paid for a month and have been poking around the Eastern Kingdoms doing quest achievements and gathering herbs and ore and organizing my bags to my utter delight. I do know that i need to get the expansion soon or I’ll just keep getting behind and that wouldn’t be good. I bumped into my sister Sierra on there the other day and we had a nice chat. We both are playing rogues right now. 

Ok. I think that’s everything I have for right now. I will be back again, though. I think writing in the morning right after my excessive amounts of coffee is probably the way to go. 

Log in to write a note
September 10, 2018

was wondering if I sent you a picture of my idiot brother-in law could you make a voodoo doll of him and poke him where it hurts most?  Just wondering….

September 11, 2018
September 10, 2018

I could use another lovely show like Great British Bakeoff, so maybe I will try that one!

September 11, 2018

@thediarymaster yes! Do it! It’s nice and they help each other and it’s generally conflict free like bake off

September 10, 2018

Oh, do give Angel another try! It’s not Buffy, and maybe that’s why you dislike it so much? It has it’s own flavor and it is an acquired taste, but as the seasons go on it’s satisfying. It might even be filling. The ending didn’t fill me though. I felt like I had a really good meal and then got denied dessert.

September 11, 2018

@caria I will do it. I feel like a bad Buffy fan for not watching Angel

September 11, 2018

@vetinari LOL I promise you are not. Really. You could go your life without seeing it and still be the biggest Buffy fan ever.  🙂