In the nick ‘o time, eh?

So, for the last few days, mostly the last couple weeks, I have enjoyed returning to Open Diary but today it occurred to me: “I don’t see any ads, how are they paying for this site?”.

Subscriptions, I knew, were a thing but I thought you were simply in limited-state with a free account; maybe you couldn’t privatize entries, or keep friends lists active.  But then I did make a couple entries private, and I did add people to my friends-list, and I started to really wonder how I was being limited.

As I was enjoying the service anyway, and wanted to give back if it wasn’t going to cost me too much (I would not have accepted too high a price point), I went to my settings page to look at my account status – good thing I did.  As it turned out, I was three days away from the end of my free trial.  Three days away from having my diary locked down behind a wall of glass – able to look but not touch.

So I joined.  I was going to join anyway and $4/month isn’t so bad.  I would have been more disappointed if I’d come back in a few days to find my diary held hostage.  Personally, I wouldn’t mind a few ads if it allowed more people to use the service for free.  I can afford to pay right now, that wasn’t true a couple years ago – it would have been a real shame to rediscover this site during that time in my life.

 

Log in to write a note
February 6, 2019

I agree!! 4$ s month, is doable for me,  as well. I was one of the testers before OD opened up to all. I had been contacted by Bruce and asked if I wanted to do it? I was like, “HEck Yeah!!!” So, that time was free, plus the free month, then I opted to go month to month, for 4$ . My bank account online, shows $3.99 a month, lol. I am very glad you were able to do it, and hope you can continue doing so!! THANK YOU for accepting my friend request. I plan to go back to your beginning OD, and read up to date.

~W
February 6, 2019

@butterfly4him Egads!  Don’t judge me too harshly as you read my journal, I’ve been going through a lot of bad stuff for a long time.

 

February 6, 2019

@w_10 : I only read a few entries toward the end of 2013. One thing I want to share with you, I NEVER JUDGE anyone. God is our judge. I am just one of His creatures. Trust me, I have a past, and it is not pretty. I never did anything illegal, and never went to jail. But, I did stuff I am totally ashamed of and I wrecked my marriage, and family, -almost. etc, etc, etc, . There is mental illness all throughout my biological family, and on my late husband’s side, too. Nope, not ever trying to or going to judge anyone.  I loathe greed though, thus the comments about our greedy management co. / owners of our apt. complex. You have a good day, OK? : )

~W
February 6, 2019

@butterfly4him Feel free to read whatever entries you like, you seem like a nice person, I just wanted to warn you that I’m not proud of everything I’ve written here but I won’t take it down because I don’t believe in whitewashing my past.  I am not happy with who I am or have been but I will always be honest about it.

February 6, 2019

@w_10 : I am not proud of a lot of my junk from the past either, but, what’s done is done!! We have each new day to rebirth our behavior and redeem ourselves. We are NOT who we WERE, we are recreating our new selves!! Never worry about me running away, scared or disgusted, I never will!!! 🙂