Forever 25

When people ask me how old my children are I automatically list off their ages….it’s not hard, right?  The problem I have is that I still say that Lizzie is 25.  Lizzie passed away when she was 25, she would now be almost 27.  In my head she remains frozen at just barely a month past her 25th birthday.  I don’t know if this is normal, it seems like something that would be normal.  I mean think about it….we don’t continue to refer to people who have passed away in the present tense.  It’s always past tense so it makes sense that we wouldn’t continue to age them either.  I don’t know…things to ponder I guess.  I know she’s certainly been on my mind heavily lately.  I know it’s because her birthday is in April and the day she passed away is in May so those two months are trying for me to say the least.  I miss her.  It all boils down to those three words.  She was a beautiful soul who was taken too soon.  

Log in to write a note
March 8, 2018

That must make that part of the year incredibly difficult for you, I am sorry for your loss.

March 8, 2018

I am so very sorry your loss.

March 8, 2018

.hugs. so sorry to hear this.

March 8, 2018

My brother passed away 6 months ago and it’s been the worst 6 months ever , especially for my mom and me, I can’t imagine your pain but I know my mom has been going thru a really bad time.. I am so sorry for your daughter, I don’t find it weird thou that u say she is 25, I still say my cousin is 16, even thou she would be like 29 I believe this April..

March 8, 2018

She is so beautiful and looks so much like you. I wish you comfort in the hard times & the next couple months which will certainly be difficult.

March 8, 2018

I am sorry for your loss.

March 8, 2018

You and Lizzie are beautiful. Sorry for your loss. Death is no stranger to me as I have lost all my relatives and I am an orphan now. Sending you mega hugs.

March 9, 2018

I am not sure how I would refer to one of my son’s ages if had died, but I think they way you do it is beautiful. My guess is you will always remember her at that age and there is nothing wrong with that. It honors your daughter’s memory.

March 9, 2018

I still refer to my niece as being 18, though she would be 43 now. I am sorry for the loss of your child.

May 17, 2018

Thank you all for your kind words….It’s been a crazy few months but we are doing good.  I’m going to try remember to write more often and I need to catch up on everyone!