Apparently no bi people in Sydney

I went for a walk this evening with a scarf tied round my head.  No, I’m not a Muslim and I’m not trying religions on for size.  I just felt like hiding from the world but needed some exercise.  I’m glad the week’s over. 

I’d been feeling rather lonely, you see.  I haven’t been coming here so often since Oobi died, and neither Alexander nor Anna have had the time or inclination to chat lately.  Alexander’s been getting back together with Tlalit, and Anna’s been overwhelmed with house guests (Alexander and Tlalit, plus their kids). 

I decided to do something about the loneliness, and found a bi club online that meets at a pub in Newtown.  They apparently changed the regular meeting week to coincide with the poly club, so they can all hang out together.  Sounded worth a look.  Anyway, it took me a huge effort to get there – a drive, three trains, running to make connections, and a six-block fast walk.  When I got there I discovered that a) I’d rubbed my feet raw on my expensive but extremely sensible-looking new shoes; and b) not a soul from either group was there. 

I guess the website is a kind of internet zombie, calculating the dates of future meetings that no-one will ever attend, for a group that’s long-since dispersed.  So I had to walk, catch trains and drive home barefoot, feeling very alone in the world.  I mean, if a bi social club can’t survive in Newtown, where the hell in this city can one survive? 

Anyway, for the rest of the week, I was trying to wake up earlier than midday, because I had a wedding to go to today.  Bizarre.  The earlier I tried to wake up and go to bed, the later I actually fell asleep.  One night I couldn’t sleep until 4am.  So I’ve been sleep deprived to the point of weight gain and temporary diabetes.  It might even explain why I felt cranky enough to complain about a Creationist ruining a discussion about history, but I’ll tell about that in the next entry. 

Log in to write a note
October 16, 2011

Zombies at my feet. Did you wear the same shoes to the wedding?