Closed shoulder: no crying here

One of my closest friends is seriously ill and may well die without surgery.  Being a US citizen without health insurance or a wealthy family, it looks like he’s in the process of doing just that, with no-one to bother to prevent it. 

I’ve just read a post from someone saying her sister has had five surgeries, and it still hasn’t worked.  I’m trying to decide if I should offer financial help.  I don’t have enough for surgery, and even tests would cost thousands. 

He’s one of my closest and dearest friends.  He’s always been there for me.  I feel bad for not writing much the last few months while I’ve been in Perth staying with Anna. 

I don’t understand Anna.  When I try to tell her about something I’m upset about, she suggests I talk to my therapist about it.  I just don’t understand why she’s being so cold.  Have I worn out my welcome?  Does she really not care about me?  It seems I’m trying hard to always be there for others, these last few months, and nobody is there for me when I need it.  Go tell someone who’s paid to care.  Indeed. 

Log in to write a note
YAH
April 19, 2012

If Anna does not want to engage with you she is not a real friend. Sorry about your friend. Does the new Obamacare not bring any new opportunities for your friend? like getting insure while having a pre-condition? Maybe America can become caring after all.

April 19, 2012

Sorry about your friend. What sort of surgery does he need? Btw I live in Perth too 🙂

April 19, 2012

Although it is horrible, I’m somehow not surprised that your friend can’t get any help so he can have life saving surgery. All anyone cares about is money. It’s disgusting. Most hospitals want the surgery paid for upfront if you don’t have insurance. He may have already checked on this but just incase, they do offer medical credit cards that approve you regardless of credit history.

April 19, 2012

I really hope your friend is able to get the care he needs. It is an all too common problem that people without insurance suffer when they need medical care.