Boro pics *pic heavy*

Seeing as how I didn’t have interweb access yesterday (well, I did, but only on my phone which suck interweb wise) I decided to go for a wander and take some pics of the town I currently call home.

photobucket

Now this is cool. Discovered it for the first time yesterday.

photobucket

photobucket

photobucket

What it says is: ‘When alchemists were born below Clevelands hills, a giant blue dragonfly across the Tees reminds us every night,
we built the world, every metropolis came from Ironopolis’. Which, when you remember the amount of things built in Teesside isn’t that far from the truth.

photobucket

They don’t believe in normal benches around here.

photobucket

WTF?

photobucket

It’s an office of some kind. But, still. WTF?

photobucket

The new Middlesbrough College campus.

photobucket

Seriously, did no – one, at any time, sit them down and explain that it looks fucking hideous?

photobucket

Random clock tower beside the college.

photobucket

Some history.

photobucket

And some more.

photobucket

I would just die if a Mr. Spock lived there at some point.

photobucket

The transporter bridge Please note, I have not done a single thing to this picture, the sky was like that when i took it. Looks cool though.

photobucket

And the carriage.

photobucket

It’s fucking tall!

photobucket

Nowadays, this would be made out of stone. Looks like this one is brass.

photobucket

And the bridge in action. I thought I had missed my chance to get this. I was just about to go when it started moving.

photobucket

Old style advertising.

photobucket

James Cook House. I dream of the day that I have enough money to buy this building and push the plunger to destroy it.

photobucket

There’s something strange with my camera. It keep warping things. I included this pic because it is most noticable here.

photobucket

This used to be quite a cool fountain.

<a href="http://s51.photobucket.com/albums/f395/williamthebloody1880/?action=view&current=PICT0029.jpg&#8221; target=”_blank”>photobucket

As did this one. No isea why they did what they did, though it might have something to do with them getting washing up liquid poured into them when there was a big event on.

photobucket

The duck pond with what looks like a giant chess board. They were thinking of getting rid of this to build a new hotel, but they changed their minds thankfully.

photobucket

I just lobve this statue. Outside of the law court.

photobucket

The bottle of notes. And, in the background is MIMA.

photobucket

The big screen. Built by the BBC for the 2012 Olympics. Two years ago. Thankfully they seem to have wisened up and currently use it for one of performances of things like the ballet. They also sometimes show Last Night of the Proms here. Though I wish they would show some Dr Who on this thing. That would be awesome.

photobucket

Urban Playground Parkour display.

photobucket

And in the background, the new fountain.

photobucket

The pics really cannot do these guys justice. It really was an awesome, awesome display.

photobucket

photobucket

The supposedly world famous Dickens Inn. Be honest, how many of you had heard of this pub before now? (little_chloella, you don’t count :¬p)

photobucket

I particularly love the fact it simply says ‘Years of Student Tradition’. Yeah, but not many students can afford to pay around £3 a pint.

photobucket

The LRC. Where I spend most of my days.

photobucket

The Union. Where I spend most of my non LRC time.

photobucket

And the terrace. Where I go to smoke. Assuming there is enough room seeing as someone isn’t happy with the whole bar and wanted half the terrace to be smoke free despite the fact that the main reason anyone uses the terrace is to smoke.

photobucket

Don’t ask. I can’t explain.

photobucket

Thanks to the BBC, I actually know that this means ‘Either learn or leave’. Sadly, most people who attend the uni end up doing neither :¬p

photobucket

It’s an old, old building.

photobucket

The whole building. It actually used to be a school. What is there is the boys school. On the left of the building, and no longer there, was the much smaller girls school.

photobucket

And some random grafitti I found this morning.

If you made it all the way through my crappy photo’s, well done.

I will be answering the politics questions in the next couple of days. So there is still time if you wanna ask something.

Will


[ writers anonymous logo ]

<center>
Widgets & Flash Toys

Log in to write a note
EWS
August 24, 2009

I liked the pictures a lot. 🙂 However, I suspect your camera has some issues, because at least half the pictures were “wavy”. Or is it that I’m just wavy? lol Eric

EWS
August 24, 2009

I liked the pictures a lot. 🙂 However, I suspect your camera has some issues, because at least half the pictures were “wavy”. Or is it that I’m just wavy? lol Eric

EWS
August 24, 2009

I liked the pictures a lot. 🙂 However, I suspect your camera has some issues, because at least half the pictures were “wavy”. Or is it that I’m just wavy? lol Eric

Very interesting photos, made even more interesting by the wobble in your camera! Your city looks like a very cool place to live. Where I live we got a giant sheep covered in flowers and a big pointy sculpture that flashes with green lights when the wind blows. Love P xxx

Very interesting photos, made even more interesting by the wobble in your camera! Your city looks like a very cool place to live. Where I live we got a giant sheep covered in flowers and a big pointy sculpture that flashes with green lights when the wind blows. Love P xxx

Very interesting photos, made even more interesting by the wobble in your camera! Your city looks like a very cool place to live. Where I live we got a giant sheep covered in flowers and a big pointy sculpture that flashes with green lights when the wind blows. Love P xxx

Oh, oh oh. I almost forgot. I used to live on Vulcan Road when I was at university. P xxx

Oh, oh oh. I almost forgot. I used to live on Vulcan Road when I was at university. P xxx

Oh, oh oh. I almost forgot. I used to live on Vulcan Road when I was at university. P xxx

August 24, 2009

Yes, pics were wonky but that somehow worked!

August 24, 2009

Yes, pics were wonky but that somehow worked!

August 24, 2009

Yes, pics were wonky but that somehow worked!

i was halfway through this entry and about to note :is everything in your world curvy or crooked? when i saw the post about your camera warping everything. cool pics.

i was halfway through this entry and about to note :is everything in your world curvy or crooked? when i saw the post about your camera warping everything. cool pics.

i was halfway through this entry and about to note :is everything in your world curvy or crooked? when i saw the post about your camera warping everything. cool pics.

August 24, 2009

Love the bridge – love bridges in general!

August 24, 2009

Love the bridge – love bridges in general!

August 24, 2009

Love the bridge – love bridges in general!

OMG – the statue in front of the law building is priceless! If I weren’t a children’s librarian I’d totally have one put up in front of my office. Your warped pictures made my head feel funny. But I like them! They’re very strange. 🙂 *hugs* ~Corby

OMG – the statue in front of the law building is priceless! If I weren’t a children’s librarian I’d totally have one put up in front of my office. Your warped pictures made my head feel funny. But I like them! They’re very strange. 🙂 *hugs* ~Corby

OMG – the statue in front of the law building is priceless! If I weren’t a children’s librarian I’d totally have one put up in front of my office. Your warped pictures made my head feel funny. But I like them! They’re very strange. 🙂 *hugs* ~Corby

August 24, 2009

Wow, some awesome looking photos there. I’d love to visit. That college was definitely hideous… understatement there!

August 24, 2009

Wow, some awesome looking photos there. I’d love to visit. That college was definitely hideous… understatement there!

August 24, 2009

Wow, some awesome looking photos there. I’d love to visit. That college was definitely hideous… understatement there!

I caught your anti-duckface note on one of shady’s entrys and I just had to stop by and say… THANK YOU!!!!! I needed that laugh. you rock dude. 🙂

I caught your anti-duckface note on one of shady’s entrys and I just had to stop by and say… THANK YOU!!!!! I needed that laugh. you rock dude. 🙂

I caught your anti-duckface note on one of shady’s entrys and I just had to stop by and say… THANK YOU!!!!! I needed that laugh. you rock dude. 🙂

August 28, 2009

Holy crap. You weren’t kidding about it being picture heavy. 🙂 I actually like the way your camera made things curve. I can see how it’d be frustrating when trying to take a serious picture, but it turned out looking really cool.

August 28, 2009

Holy crap. You weren’t kidding about it being picture heavy. 🙂 I actually like the way your camera made things curve. I can see how it’d be frustrating when trying to take a serious picture, but it turned out looking really cool.

August 28, 2009

Holy crap. You weren’t kidding about it being picture heavy. 🙂 I actually like the way your camera made things curve. I can see how it’d be frustrating when trying to take a serious picture, but it turned out looking really cool.

September 3, 2009

LOVED looking though all these pics. the photo of the second ex fountain, well i used to live about thirty seconds from there (on borough road) and walked past it (and the pond and bottle of notes etc) whenever i went into town and it was often full of foam!! awww i do miss boro sometimes. not saying i could live there permanently but i do have a soft spot for the place.

September 3, 2009

LOVED looking though all these pics. the photo of the second ex fountain, well i used to live about thirty seconds from there (on borough road) and walked past it (and the pond and bottle of notes etc) whenever i went into town and it was often full of foam!! awww i do miss boro sometimes. not saying i could live there permanently but i do have a soft spot for the place.

September 3, 2009

LOVED looking though all these pics. the photo of the second ex fountain, well i used to live about thirty seconds from there (on borough road) and walked past it (and the pond and bottle of notes etc) whenever i went into town and it was often full of foam!! awww i do miss boro sometimes. not saying i could live there permanently but i do have a soft spot for the place.