Brunchy Spoon

Yes, I can explain my entry title.

A couple of days ago, I decided to watch every film nominated for the Best Picture Oscar before the ceremony.  Last night, I decided to extend that to every film nominated for Best Picture, Director, the Acting categories and Screenwriting.

Thoughts thus far?

Three Billboards Outside Ebbing, Missouri: It’s good, but not as great as it’s made out to be.  Frances McDormand and Sam Rockwell are absolutely outstanding though.

The Shape of Water: Absolutely outstanding.  An absolute tour de force of a film and fires on all cylinders in every department.  I love, love, love this film.

Get Out: A rarity, a massively hyped film that actually lives up to hype.  Deeply unsettling.

Lady Bird: Again, good but not great.  The acting is top notch though.

That’s as far as I’ve got thus far.

Tomorrow, I have to head into town to drop off the form for getting a new fit note.  And thus far, that’s my only weekend plans, interesting life that I lead.

Will

Log in to write a note
February 22, 2018

I have seen all! I have to say that the acting in Three Billboards was off the chart awesome! Get Out was way cool but The Shape of Water was my favorite – so different and so unique.

February 28, 2018

I want to see Three Billboards – I just found out they filmed it in several spots near Asheville NC, where I grew up. The billboards were right outside Black Mountain, maybe 10 miles from where my dad still lives. I would not think that part of NC looks like Missouri, but apparently it does.