Good stuff *EDIT*

Quite a few of my recent entries have been quite downcast so, in this entry, I’m going to list things that are good.

The last series of Ashes to Ashes starts on Good Friday.

The new series of Dr Who starts on Easter Saturday.

And, based on the newest trailers, not only does Matt Smith look like he’s going to be good (as I said he would be) but it seems that we have a Scottish actor actually using their normal accent in the show.

Glee returns after the ridiculous break on the 13th. On the 20th it’s the all Madonna episode. And Neil Patrick Harris will be appearing (and singing) in the Joss Whedon directed episode.

The Scott Pilgrim Vs The World (new film by Edgar Wright) trailer has been released and, in addition to one of the best taglines ever (An Epic of Epic Epicness) it looks awesome:

BTW: I highly recommend the books. Brilliant.

Just downloaded a shitload of Danny Elfman scores.

Watched Charlie and the chocolate factory last night. still prefer it to Willy Wonka and the Chocolate factory.

The crime short I’m writing for a competition seems to be going well. Will need people to read it and give me feedback soon. Watch this space.

Had quite a good night out last night for a friends birthday.

Wrestlemania is this weekend and should be good.

And I have my health. Except the hand thing.

Will

*EDIT*

Cos I brought this up in a previous entry…

Winner announced for world’s oddest book title award

Crocheting Adventures with Hyperbolic Planes by Daina Taimina beats Collectible Spoons of the Third Reich to the top spot

Charlotte Higgins

The Guardian, Friday 26 March 2010

The annual prize for the oddest book title has been won by the splendidly eccentric Crocheting Adventures with Hyperbolic Planes, by Dr Daina Taimina. Last year’s winner was The 2009-2014 World Outlook for 60-milligram Containers of Fromage Frais.

The Diagram prize has been awarded annually by The Bookseller magazine since 1978. Horace Bent, the magazine’s diarist, who administers it, said: “I think what won it for the book is that, very simply, the title is completely bonkers. On the one hand you have the typically feminine, gentle and woolly world of needlework and, on the other, the exciting but incredibly unwoolly world of hyperbolic geometry and negative curvature.”

“One hopes that Dr Taimina’s win prompts other enlightened crocheters, knitters and embroiderers to produce similar works, so I look forward to seeing books such as Cross-stitching String Theory and Felting Feats with Phenomenology in the near future.”

Taimina will receive no prize aside from “the sales boost that will now inevitably occur”, according to Bent.

The book is in fact a serious work by a mathematician at Cornell University in New York state. As David Henderson, Taimina’s husband, has explained, a hyperbolic plane “is a simply connected Riemannian manifold with negative Gaussian curvature”. Hyperbolic planes – surfaces with constant negative curvature – which are studied as a branch of non-Euclidian geometry, have traditionally been hard to visualise: Taimina’s breakthrough was to use crochet to create such shapes. Dr Taimina’s work has appeared in an exhibition titled Not The Knitting You Know.

The other shortlisted titles included Collectible Spoons of the Third Reich by James A Yannes.

Source

Will

 

 

photobucket
 

[ writers anonymous logo ]

photobucket
 

Log in to write a note

Doctor Who looks like being extremely good. 🙂

Doctor Who looks like being extremely good. 🙂

Doctor Who looks like being extremely good. 🙂

Doctor Who looks like being extremely good. 🙂

March 27, 2010

*grins at your warning pop-up* Nicely done! “Just downloaded a shitload of Danny Elfman scores.” That gives me a warm fuzzy feeling… I’m such a Tender Lumpling! (Not to be confused with the diarist by the same name, though she’s pretty cool too. It was the Elfman/Boingo-fan reference in her name that started me reading her stuff.) RYN: “I only found out about it afterwardswhen I received the letter.” Gee, aren’t THEY efficient. *rolls eyes* “The reason it pops up after leaving a note is because it automatically reloads the page.” Oh yeah! *duh* I knew that. “Oh, and the message pops up when viewing your diary on my Tocco Lite.” Sweet! Gotta love technology! “…the next entry on my faves list was the entry from the DM explaining the change.” *laughs* I saw that right after I wrote my entry… and I left him a note telling him so. I felt INCREDIBLY observant that day! 🙂 ~Shady

March 27, 2010

*grins at your warning pop-up* Nicely done! “Just downloaded a shitload of Danny Elfman scores.” That gives me a warm fuzzy feeling… I’m such a Tender Lumpling! (Not to be confused with the diarist by the same name, though she’s pretty cool too. It was the Elfman/Boingo-fan reference in her name that started me reading her stuff.) RYN: “I only found out about it afterwardswhen I received the letter.” Gee, aren’t THEY efficient. *rolls eyes* “The reason it pops up after leaving a note is because it automatically reloads the page.” Oh yeah! *duh* I knew that. “Oh, and the message pops up when viewing your diary on my Tocco Lite.” Sweet! Gotta love technology! “…the next entry on my faves list was the entry from the DM explaining the change.” *laughs* I saw that right after I wrote my entry… and I left him a note telling him so. I felt INCREDIBLY observant that day! 🙂 ~Shady

March 27, 2010

*grins at your warning pop-up* Nicely done! “Just downloaded a shitload of Danny Elfman scores.” That gives me a warm fuzzy feeling… I’m such a Tender Lumpling! (Not to be confused with the diarist by the same name, though she’s pretty cool too. It was the Elfman/Boingo-fan reference in her name that started me reading her stuff.) RYN: “I only found out about it afterwardswhen I received the letter.” Gee, aren’t THEY efficient. *rolls eyes* “The reason it pops up after leaving a note is because it automatically reloads the page.” Oh yeah! *duh* I knew that. “Oh, and the message pops up when viewing your diary on my Tocco Lite.” Sweet! Gotta love technology! “…the next entry on my faves list was the entry from the DM explaining the change.” *laughs* I saw that right after I wrote my entry… and I left him a note telling him so. I felt INCREDIBLY observant that day! 🙂 ~Shady

March 27, 2010

*grins at your warning pop-up* Nicely done! “Just downloaded a shitload of Danny Elfman scores.” That gives me a warm fuzzy feeling… I’m such a Tender Lumpling! (Not to be confused with the diarist by the same name, though she’s pretty cool too. It was the Elfman/Boingo-fan reference in her name that started me reading her stuff.) RYN: “I only found out about it afterwardswhen I received the letter.” Gee, aren’t THEY efficient. *rolls eyes* “The reason it pops up after leaving a note is because it automatically reloads the page.” Oh yeah! *duh* I knew that. “Oh, and the message pops up when viewing your diary on my Tocco Lite.” Sweet! Gotta love technology! “…the next entry on my faves list was the entry from the DM explaining the change.” *laughs* I saw that right after I wrote my entry… and I left him a note telling him so. I felt INCREDIBLY observant that day! 🙂 ~Shady

March 27, 2010

*watches trailer* It didn’t load very well for me (my computer has issues) but from what I could see it looked like a LOT of fun! …is it just me or did that very first shot of the girl make you think, “Holy crap, it’s Stephanie from Lazytown!!!” *hehehe* Oh, I almost forgot… “Watched Charlie and the chocolate factory last night.” Is it just me, or are all the singingvoices for the Oompa-Loompas just Danny Elfman’s voice tweaked and layered? It sure SOUNDS like it and I thought it was fantastic! ~Shady

March 27, 2010

*watches trailer* It didn’t load very well for me (my computer has issues) but from what I could see it looked like a LOT of fun! …is it just me or did that very first shot of the girl make you think, “Holy crap, it’s Stephanie from Lazytown!!!” *hehehe* Oh, I almost forgot… “Watched Charlie and the chocolate factory last night.” Is it just me, or are all the singingvoices for the Oompa-Loompas just Danny Elfman’s voice tweaked and layered? It sure SOUNDS like it and I thought it was fantastic! ~Shady

March 27, 2010

*watches trailer* It didn’t load very well for me (my computer has issues) but from what I could see it looked like a LOT of fun! …is it just me or did that very first shot of the girl make you think, “Holy crap, it’s Stephanie from Lazytown!!!” *hehehe* Oh, I almost forgot… “Watched Charlie and the chocolate factory last night.” Is it just me, or are all the singingvoices for the Oompa-Loompas just Danny Elfman’s voice tweaked and layered? It sure SOUNDS like it and I thought it was fantastic! ~Shady

March 27, 2010

*watches trailer* It didn’t load very well for me (my computer has issues) but from what I could see it looked like a LOT of fun! …is it just me or did that very first shot of the girl make you think, “Holy crap, it’s Stephanie from Lazytown!!!” *hehehe* Oh, I almost forgot… “Watched Charlie and the chocolate factory last night.” Is it just me, or are all the singingvoices for the Oompa-Loompas just Danny Elfman’s voice tweaked and layered? It sure SOUNDS like it and I thought it was fantastic! ~Shady

March 27, 2010

RYN: I thought so! I didn’t catch it the first couple of times (we own the DVD and it gets put on all the time as background noise) but one day I stopped and REALLY listened and, although I knew SOME of it had to be Elfman, it finally clicked that ALL of it sounded like him! Score one for my totally-musically-untrained ears! 🙂 ~Shady

March 27, 2010

RYN: I thought so! I didn’t catch it the first couple of times (we own the DVD and it gets put on all the time as background noise) but one day I stopped and REALLY listened and, although I knew SOME of it had to be Elfman, it finally clicked that ALL of it sounded like him! Score one for my totally-musically-untrained ears! 🙂 ~Shady

March 27, 2010

RYN: I thought so! I didn’t catch it the first couple of times (we own the DVD and it gets put on all the time as background noise) but one day I stopped and REALLY listened and, although I knew SOME of it had to be Elfman, it finally clicked that ALL of it sounded like him! Score one for my totally-musically-untrained ears! 🙂 ~Shady

March 27, 2010

RYN: Dude, Dr. Pepper is the Crack of soda pop… that stuff’s just plain addictive! *evil grin*

March 27, 2010

RYN: Dude, Dr. Pepper is the Crack of soda pop… that stuff’s just plain addictive! *evil grin*

March 27, 2010

RYN: Dude, Dr. Pepper is the Crack of soda pop… that stuff’s just plain addictive! *evil grin*