I’m the pain you tasted

The pic is the Thai green curry I talked about in my last entry.  Not going to make it again, mostly because I don’t, as it turns out, like it.

Got woken up today by an alert on my phone.  It was BBC News, letting me know that Keith Flint from The Prodigy had died.

The Prodigy was a band that I had only heard a couple of songs from and thought they were OK.  Then I heard Firestarter and I was completely blown away.  This was dance music as I’d never heard it before.  It was raw.  It rocked, which was something dance music had never done before.  Then I saw the video:

And this was my first introduction to Keith Flint.  A pierced bundle of energy with weird hair.  (This video, by the way, was banned from Top of The Pops for being too scary.)

I was hooked.  As soon as The Fat of the Land was released, I got a copy and it was rarely out of rotation on my stereo.

Yeah, this one hurt.

Then, at tea time, I got another BBC News notification that Luke Perry had died.  This one hurt less, but it still hurt.  I was a huge 90210 fan growing up.  When it was announced that he had been cast in Riverdale, I thought it was stunt casting.  Wrong.  He was, unequivocally, one of the best things about the show.

RIP to both.

Will

Log in to write a note
March 4, 2019

the first person I have never heard of but the second one I use to watch that show because he was so cute and every other female thought so too…RIP to both.

March 5, 2019

You might enjoy Japanese curry more. It’s more mild and has a lot of flavor.