Insert witty title here

So, Wednesday night went to kareoke for the first time in quite a while. Got there and remembered that it was also Tees/Wear varsity that day. Never the best of days to sing. But, ah well.

Got up to sing The Time Warp (shock) and I got a stage invasion from a bunch of Sunderland Uni students. Later I sang Teenage Kicks and the same happened. Some of them were actually quite cute, although a couple of my friends got pissed off on my behalf. I, old pro at stage invasions that I am, wasn’t actually too bothered.

They’d gone by the time I sang Sweet Child O Mine. So I got a friend to take some pictures of it. And here they are:

In case you’re wondering what I’m doing in that last one, I’m playing air guitar. Much cheaper than a real one :¬p

Apart from that, I haven’t really been up to much. Arguing with the landlord (again). I really cannot wait till I move out in the summer. The guy is a wanker.

And I finally caught up with Heroes. Now just to wait for it to come back. Oh and for Drive to start as that looks fantastic!

This is the last call for questions as I’ll be answering them on Monday. If you’re a bit shy, let me know and I’ll protect your anonimity.

Finally, found this and thought it was too good to share:

Odder book titles make shortlist
How Green Were the Nazis? and The Stray Shopping Carts of Eastern North America are just two of the titles competing for an unusual book prize.

The Bookseller magazine has released its shortlist for the Oddest Titles prize, honouring fringe publishing.

Proceedings of the Eighteenth International Seaweed Symposium is also in the running, with a public vote due to decide the winner.

The winning author receives a bottle of champagne for their efforts.

Last year’s contest was won by Gary Leon Hill for his impressively titled The People Who Don’t Know They’re Dead: How They Attach Themselves to Unsuspecting Bystanders and What to Do About It.

Joel Rickett, deputy editor of The Bookseller, said: “While rival literary awards like the Costas and the Orange Broadband Prize have sold out, The Bookseller/Diagram Prize has refused all offers of corporate sponsorship for 29 years.

“It continues to celebrate the bizarre, the strange, and the simply odd. This year’s shortlist shows that despite publishers cutting back their lists, literary diversity continues to flourish.”

The shortlist was compiled from entries that caught the eye of publishers, booksellers and librarians across the world.

Another of this year’s contenders for the prize starts off simply enough with D Di Mascio’s Delicious Ice-Cream, but continues with the subtitle D Di Mascio of Coventry: An Ice Cream Company of Repute, with an Interesting and Varied Fleet of Ice Cream Vans.

The winner will be revealed on 13 April, ahead of the London Book Fair.

SHORTLISTED TITLES
How Green Were the Nazis? edited by Franz-Josef Bruggemeier, Mark Cioc and Thomas Zeller
D. Di Mascio’s Delicious Ice Cream: D. Di Mascio of Coventry: An Ice Cream Company of Repute, with an Interesting and Varied Fleet of Ice Cream Vans by Roger De Boer, Harvey Francis Pitcher, and Alan Wilkinson
The Stray Shopping Carts of Eastern North America: A Guide to Field Identification by Julian Montague
Tattooed Mountain Women and Spoon Boxes of Daghestan by Robert Chenciner by Gabib Ismailov, Magomedkhan Magomedkhanov and Alex Binnie
Proceedings of the Eighteenth International Seaweed Symposium edited by Robert J Anderson, Juliet A Brodie, Edvar Onsoyen and Alan T Critchley
Better Never To Have Been: The Harm of Coming Into Existence by David Benatar

Story from BBC NEWS:
http://news.bbc.co.uk/go/pr/fr/-/1/hi/entertainment/6437705.stm

Hee!

Will

Published: 2007/03/10 14:37:40 GMT

© BBC MMVII

Log in to write a note
March 10, 2007

i usually do the womble song

March 10, 2007

i usually do the womble song

International Seaweed Symposium? What on earth is so interesting about seaweeds that it is wirth a symposium?

International Seaweed Symposium? What on earth is so interesting about seaweeds that it is wirth a symposium?

air guitar? are you kidding me? only in england. you said ‘wanker’…that’s hilarious. you know what i need? a couple weeks of good, solid, cloudy and rainy days. yep. that’s what I need. 🙂

air guitar? are you kidding me? only in england. you said ‘wanker’…that’s hilarious. you know what i need? a couple weeks of good, solid, cloudy and rainy days. yep. that’s what I need. 🙂

now i remember what i was going to write. you caught up on heroes!? what are your theories? i had a bunch, but they were all either debunked or proven in the last few weeks….tell me! *impatient*

now i remember what i was going to write. you caught up on heroes!? what are your theories? i had a bunch, but they were all either debunked or proven in the last few weeks….tell me! *impatient*

March 10, 2007

THE HARM OF COMING INTO EXISTENCE!!!! Damn…. I knew I should have been more careful! Just classic. Looks like you’re were rocking at kareoke. 🙂 D xo

March 10, 2007

THE HARM OF COMING INTO EXISTENCE!!!! Damn…. I knew I should have been more careful! Just classic. Looks like you’re were rocking at kareoke. 🙂 D xo

March 11, 2007

I love to kareoke. If I ever visit your area, we are so going singing! 🙂 Later,

March 11, 2007

I love to kareoke. If I ever visit your area, we are so going singing! 🙂 Later,

March 11, 2007

You look like Dominic Monaghan, particularly in the third pic. Nice. ^^ I can’t do karaoke; I have a crap voice and I can’t stand everyone looking at me. Looks like fun though!

March 11, 2007

You look like Dominic Monaghan, particularly in the third pic. Nice. ^^ I can’t do karaoke; I have a crap voice and I can’t stand everyone looking at me. Looks like fun though!

March 11, 2007

You look so cute. Sooo cute. 😀 We MUST do karaoke together one day. That’s probably the same day I’ll convince you to try tequila one more time. That’ll be a BIG day. *firm nod*

March 11, 2007

You look so cute. Sooo cute. 😀 We MUST do karaoke together one day. That’s probably the same day I’ll convince you to try tequila one more time. That’ll be a BIG day. *firm nod*