Nick Cave and Warren Ellis 29/09/21

I was going to walk out to Stockton, but I left it late so I bussed out.  Stopped off somewhere for a couple of pints, then went to the Globe.

The Globe has been closed ever since I first moved to Middlesbrough over 20 years ago, but I knew they were renovating it and this was the first thing I wanted to see there since it reopened.  It is a gorgeous place, inside and out, and the folk who own it deserve congratulations since it is obvious it’s been done with love and a desire to bring it back as was, rather than updating it.

Now, a down note.  I went to get a t shirt, but it was cashless.  (I found someone to get me one from another gig and send it to me.)  I then went to the bar only to discover that it is a completely cashless venue.

Why?  Bars and shops I can (kinda) get, but a venue that size?  Really?  It’s not a good idea, if only for the number of complaints they’ll get if the system goes down.  (And, yes, I di have a contactless card, but I didn’t have any money on it.)

Also, why no warning until I got there?

Anyway, I left to have a pint elsewhere then went back for the gig.

It was worth it.  Cave and Ellis were on fine form, Cave prowling the stage when he wasn’t on the piano, asking what the on Tees means in Stockton on Tees (pointing out that Australia has straightforward town names like Adelaide), Ellis with a keyboard perched on his knees when he wasn’t playing the violin and showing off some leg:

The music was both haunting and beautiful, ranging from across Cave’s career.  My two favourites were God is in the House, one of my favourite songs from one of my favourite albums No More Shall We Part (and included an audience participation bit that we screwed up a couple of times) and Cave being joined on vocals by a backing singer for Henry Lee, which was a pleasant surprise.  They did an encore, so the whole gig was about 2 hours and definitely worth it.

I then had another pint and went home.  It was a sublime night of music and I really hope I get the chance to Cave with the Bad Seeds in the future.

I’ll leave you with God is in the House:

Will

Log in to write a note