On Fictly and killers of a serial nature

A while ago, Wil Wheaton put me onto a website called Ficlets. Then AOL (who owned the site) decided in their infinite dumbasserywisdom to close said site. (Sadly, I was unable to save my stories, but they have been archived, thankfully.)

The original creators decided not to take it lieing down and restarted the whole thing, this time under the name Fictly.

What is a fictly? It’s a short story. Very short. As in 64 – 1,024.

That’s characters, not words.

Another cool thing about the site is that if, after reading someone else’s story, it inspires you, you can write what happened before the story in question. Or what happened next. Then there is the chance that someone will be inspired by you and the story will span off in a bunch of different directions.

It’s well worth a look. And, if you do decide to sign up, you can friend me here.

And I worked out yesterday that I’m not normal. That shouldn’t come as any big surprise to anyone here, but yesterday I found out exactly how not normal I really am.

It’s a little known fact about me that I have a wierd obsession with serial killers, mass murderers, spree killers and religeus cults. I was annoyed last week when a documentary called Going Postal was shown on BBC2, put on the iPlayer and not made available for download. I’ve since found a torrent, except it has absolutely no-one seeding it so it’s not moving.

But I digress.

WH smiths over here has just started a six week collection about serial killers. Each issue focuses on two killers complete with a DVD with a documentary about the people. The first one is Fred and Rosemary West and Dennis Nielson (who is of particular interest to me, coming from Fraserborough, which is about 1 hour away from Aberdeen). I bought the first part yesterday, read who was to feature in the six part run and discovered that three of the killers to be profiled I had never heard of before. (The Sussex Strangler is one. I can’t remember the na,me of the other two off the top of my head.)

Now, I didn’t think “OK, I’m going to learn something new”. My thought process was more this:

“Oh, my fucking God, how the hell have I NOT heard of these people before. This is so cool. Seriously, this is mega frakking exciting. Should I google them to find out more, or just wait till I get the issues and learn about them then?”

(In case you’re wondering, I decided to go with the latter so, please, don’t spoil it for me.)

Told you I wasn’t normal.

Hmmm, how to end such a strange entry?

I know. Square trees!

photobucket

Will


[ writers anonymous logo ]

Widgets & Flash Toys

Log in to write a note

Those square trees look very strange. Like jelly cubes on the ends of cocktail sticks. 🙂

Those square trees look very strange. Like jelly cubes on the ends of cocktail sticks. 🙂

Those square trees look very strange. Like jelly cubes on the ends of cocktail sticks. 🙂

June 1, 2009

Honestly? Not so weird. Adam’s been collecting books on serial killers for years. My 16 year old sister has decided she wants to be a profiler. I think it’s the horror. We can’t imagine how someone could ever do something so horrific, so we have to read/watch things about them. My Wikipedia searching often turns to things of a serial killer nature. *shrugs* Not so weird. ~

June 1, 2009

Honestly? Not so weird. Adam’s been collecting books on serial killers for years. My 16 year old sister has decided she wants to be a profiler. I think it’s the horror. We can’t imagine how someone could ever do something so horrific, so we have to read/watch things about them. My Wikipedia searching often turns to things of a serial killer nature. *shrugs* Not so weird. ~

June 1, 2009

Honestly? Not so weird. Adam’s been collecting books on serial killers for years. My 16 year old sister has decided she wants to be a profiler. I think it’s the horror. We can’t imagine how someone could ever do something so horrific, so we have to read/watch things about them. My Wikipedia searching often turns to things of a serial killer nature. *shrugs* Not so weird. ~

June 1, 2009

I will have to check it out. I’m in awe of people who can do the drabble as I’m so verbose.

June 1, 2009

I will have to check it out. I’m in awe of people who can do the drabble as I’m so verbose.

June 1, 2009

I will have to check it out. I’m in awe of people who can do the drabble as I’m so verbose.

July 1, 2009

there’s a certain hospital in aberdeen …..

July 1, 2009

there’s a certain hospital in aberdeen …..

July 1, 2009

there’s a certain hospital in aberdeen …..