Otaku

Monday night, quiz night in the union. On my way in with my friend I bump into someone I knew from college and we stood around and chatted for a bit. Then, later on in the union, I spoke to someone else from college. Three in one day! What are the chances of that?

So, every week in the quiz they have the random round. As the name suggests, the theme of the round changes each week. (Particular highlight was the week it was about the Pizza Hut menu (no, really)). So this week it was superheroes.

We got three questions wrong.

First one we got wrong was What is the name of Prince Adam of Eternia’s pet cat?

We put Tygra.

Answer: Cringer.

Second one we got wrong was How many types of Kryptonite are there?

We put 10.

Answer: 5.

(Although some fans of the comic argued that was only in the films. Wikipedia lists 15.)

But the third one was the one that got my geek heckles raised. This one had me ranting for ages (and poor Nikki had to put up with it).

What metal is bonded to Wolverines skeleton?

Immediately I wrote down ‘Adamantium’ which I know to be spot on. I knew it. I also said to Nikki that few teams would actually get that right, cos it doesn’t actually exist.

The answer that was given as correct?

Titanium.

Fucking titanium.

It’s not. It’s bloody not. I know it isn’t. I’ve read countless guides to The X-Men (thanks to my ex) and they all say the same thing. Wolverine has a metal called adamantium bonded to his skeleton and bone claws and this is the toughest metal known to man.

IT’S NOT TITANUIM FOR THE LOVE OF PROFESSOR X!!!!!!!!!

(Yeah, and just remember that Nikki got that, and variations thereof, for about 15 minutes.)

When I confronted them about it afterwards, they admitted that they knew it was wrong.

Nikki was crashing at mine, so we got food and then got a taxi back, at her request. And I’m wishing she hadn’t cos I got the tip of one of my fingers trapped in the door when I closed it. So now the finger in question is kinda bruised, swolen and ouchy.

Tuesday I got my old, broken laptop back. I opened the box and kinda got nostalgic about it. But, everything changes as they say. Now all I need is the cash to send it to Aberdeen.

I’m going to seriously get addicted to http://www.alluc.org as it’s thanks to them that I’m getting caught up Heroes (huge personal SQUEE!!! moment in Chapter 13) and then there’s Veronica Mars, then they have wrestling videos and then series one of The Prisoner, and then…

If only their Studio 60 links would work :¬(

Anyhoo, got to go to the cludgie, then have a smoke then I’ve got Chapter 14 of heores all lined up. Yay!

On my way into town today I noticed that there is a shop opening up near me selling pet lizards, etc. I swear, if I thought I would be allowed pets in the flat, I had the room and the money, I would get one. And probably name it Hiro.

Unless I got a gekko. In which case I’d name it Gordon. (Kudos if you get the reference.)

Don’t forget. I need your questions for my belated 1100th entry interview thingy. Hopefully I’ll get it posted at the weekend.

Will

(Fictional cookie and internetty hugs n stuff for anyone who knows what the entry title means.)

Log in to write a note
March 7, 2007

I saw titanium and couldn’t help but burst out with “BOLLOCKS!”. The Gecko thing rings a bell.. I wanna say Wall Street? But I DO know what Otaku means, cause I am one. ^^ *nibbles delicately on a cookie and gives you a hug back* Thanks for the link; I was going to check it out tonight, but if all goes to plan I’ll have a copy on DVD to watch at the weekend instead, thanks to a lad in my training class :} He pointed me to alluc.org today as well, funnily enough! Now, to think up questions.. and get my bum in gear to write an update. Mind you, it’s not like anything’s really happening…

March 7, 2007

I saw titanium and couldn’t help but burst out with “BOLLOCKS!”. The Gecko thing rings a bell.. I wanna say Wall Street? But I DO know what Otaku means, cause I am one. ^^ *nibbles delicately on a cookie and gives you a hug back* Thanks for the link; I was going to check it out tonight, but if all goes to plan I’ll have a copy on DVD to watch at the weekend instead, thanks to a lad in my training class :} He pointed me to alluc.org today as well, funnily enough! Now, to think up questions.. and get my bum in gear to write an update. Mind you, it’s not like anything’s really happening…

March 7, 2007

Oh, and shame on you for getting the He-Man question wrong! Call yourself an 80’s kid? ^^ Tygra was Thundercats. (I really must get that show on DVD, I loved it as a kid) I only got 5 types of Kryptonite as well, but that’s more from Smallville than anything else!

March 7, 2007

Oh, and shame on you for getting the He-Man question wrong! Call yourself an 80’s kid? ^^ Tygra was Thundercats. (I really must get that show on DVD, I loved it as a kid) I only got 5 types of Kryptonite as well, but that’s more from Smallville than anything else!

March 7, 2007

Japanese obsessed person =) *hugs* me and jade are otaku’s hehe

March 7, 2007

Japanese obsessed person =) *hugs* me and jade are otaku’s hehe

March 7, 2007

mmm.. ok… Someone who lives in their home, never comes out and is a social retard? hehe – moi.

March 7, 2007

mmm.. ok… Someone who lives in their home, never comes out and is a social retard? hehe – moi.

March 7, 2007

okok, i WILL get this.. someone who’s obsessed with a subject/hobby that causes them to be tied to home? for example WoW hehe

March 7, 2007

okok, i WILL get this.. someone who’s obsessed with a subject/hobby that causes them to be tied to home? for example WoW hehe

March 7, 2007

Kudos? Squee? hehe Geek-heckles? so close to giving up.. hehe

March 7, 2007

Kudos? Squee? hehe Geek-heckles? so close to giving up.. hehe

March 7, 2007

RYN: You’re making me work for my cookie and hug? *sad Ori face* Aaaaanyways! The term otaku (in its slang use) generally refers to someone who is obsessed/has an obsessive hobby and/or interest. It primarily refers to anime & manga enthusiasts, but can be applied to pretty much anything. It can be seen as a derogatory term, so while people joke around and refer to themselves as otaku, somepeople may take offence and would not want to be called that. I on the other hand, don’t care. ^^ I’m a geek, I’m used to it. Re: BattleCat – okay, you’ve redeemed yourself. And as for Heroes, how could I resist puppy dog eyes?? Once I’ve got the DVDs I’ll give you a heads up; I don’t know if it’s copies of the actual DVDs or if it’s episodes that have been downloaded and burned to disk. Either way, I’ll be able to sort something out for you. Call it a late birthday present. Let me know if your DVD player/drive has any restrictions on the types it’ll play: +/- R/RW etc.

March 7, 2007

RYN: You’re making me work for my cookie and hug? *sad Ori face* Aaaaanyways! The term otaku (in its slang use) generally refers to someone who is obsessed/has an obsessive hobby and/or interest. It primarily refers to anime & manga enthusiasts, but can be applied to pretty much anything. It can be seen as a derogatory term, so while people joke around and refer to themselves as otaku, somepeople may take offence and would not want to be called that. I on the other hand, don’t care. ^^ I’m a geek, I’m used to it. Re: BattleCat – okay, you’ve redeemed yourself. And as for Heroes, how could I resist puppy dog eyes?? Once I’ve got the DVDs I’ll give you a heads up; I don’t know if it’s copies of the actual DVDs or if it’s episodes that have been downloaded and burned to disk. Either way, I’ll be able to sort something out for you. Call it a late birthday present. Let me know if your DVD player/drive has any restrictions on the types it’ll play: +/- R/RW etc.

yeah, those answers are not correct (the ones given as the correct ones, not yours), and I say this because asking my geek ass husband (who has been reading comics since he was born, and is in fact reading them right now) these same questions, he came up with similar, if not exactly the same answers. jerkfaces. you shoulda had those right.

yeah, those answers are not correct (the ones given as the correct ones, not yours), and I say this because asking my geek ass husband (who has been reading comics since he was born, and is in fact reading them right now) these same questions, he came up with similar, if not exactly the same answers. jerkfaces. you shoulda had those right.

March 10, 2007

no way! back in the dark ages when i got the comics it wasn’t titanium sheesh whare did they dig that up from

March 10, 2007

no way! back in the dark ages when i got the comics it wasn’t titanium sheesh whare did they dig that up from