Pinched from Almost a Sarah

Regional English Survey
Age: 29
Where did you grow up: Aberdeen, Scotland

WHAT DO YOU CALL:
1. A body of water, smaller than a river, contained within relatively narrow banks? Either a pond or a burn. Depends on if the water is flowing
2. What the thing you push around the grocery store is called? A trolley
3. A metal container to carry a meal in? Piecebox
4. The thing that you cook bacon and eggs in? Frying pan
5. The piece of furniture that seats three people? Sofa
6. The device on the outside of the house that carries rain off the roof? A gutter.
7. The covered area outside a house where people sit in the evening? A patio.
8. Carbonated, sweetened, non-alcoholic beverages? Juice (despite what some say :¬p
9. A flat, round breakfast food served with syrup? Pancakes.
10. A long sandwich designed by a whole meal in itself? A sandwich
11. The piece of clothing worn by men at the beach? Swimming trunks
12. Shoes worn for sports? Trainers
13. Putting a room in order? Tidying. Though I do like the answer given by Almost a Sarah (torture)
14. A flying insect that glows in the dark? Firefly
15. The little insect that curls up into a ball? Never heard of them before
16. The children’s playground equipment where one kid sits on one side and goes up while the other sits on the other side and goes down? Seesaw.
17. How do you eat your pizza? With my hands, tip-to-crust. Oh, and covered in slald cream.
18. What’s it called when private citizens put up signs and sell their used stuff? Car boot sale
19. What’s the evening meal? Supper
20. The thing under a house where the furnace and perhaps a rec room are? Basement
21. What do you call the thing that you can get water out of to drink in public places? Water fountain.

Will

alan johnston banner

Log in to write a note
June 21, 2007

See, I thought #1 was a stream. Or creek.

June 21, 2007

See, I thought #1 was a stream. Or creek.

it. is. NOT. JUICE! 🙂

it. is. NOT. JUICE! 🙂

June 21, 2007

I would have thought #1 was a stream, too. lol This was fun. I might do this later (even though I’m in Australia). 🙂 xo

June 21, 2007

I would have thought #1 was a stream, too. lol This was fun. I might do this later (even though I’m in Australia). 🙂 xo

June 23, 2007

Ohhh I am stealing that, what with my move across counties it is very interesting

June 23, 2007

Ohhh I am stealing that, what with my move across counties it is very interesting

June 25, 2007

I have to chime in – it IS juice!! (I think I contributed to donut’s entry on that a while back!) Might have to gank this, because I have a few different answers. Actually, I think you tagged me to do a survey a while back.. will need to go looking for that. I think once I’m done catching up on your diary I’ll have to call it a night.. just 12 more to get through tomorrow!

June 25, 2007

I have to chime in – it IS juice!! (I think I contributed to donut’s entry on that a while back!) Might have to gank this, because I have a few different answers. Actually, I think you tagged me to do a survey a while back.. will need to go looking for that. I think once I’m done catching up on your diary I’ll have to call it a night.. just 12 more to get through tomorrow!