Santa = Satan

I’m currently watching Saved!, which is both where the title comes from and a film I haven’t seen in years.

Last weekend was Eurovision!  It was a mixed bag this year, to be honest.  The winner was Loreen for Sweden, with Tattoo:

I’m not a fan.  It’s not the best, to be honest.  what it is is safe.  It also means that, coincidentally, the contest will be held in Sweden next year for the 50th anniversary of Abba winning.  I don’t think that the jury vote was rigged to allow that to happen, but I do think the choice of song was designed to improve the chances.

(Prediction for next years show, heavily Abba themed, the theme for the show will be “Thank you for the music” and they’ll probably have something similar to this years Liverpool songbook segment with Abba songs.)

My favourite this year is the song that came second, Cha Cha Cha by Käärijä:

My other favourite song was part of the Liverpool songbook I mentioned before.  It was part of the interval act and was previous Eurovision performers singing songs by acts from Liverpool.  One of the singers was Daði Freyr, who has an interesting history with the competition.  He was Icelands entry in 202 with Think About Things.  Then the pandemic saw the competition cancelled.  He was their entry for 2021, but between the semi final dress rehearsal and the semi final, someone on the Icelandic delegation tested positive for Covid and the whole delegation had to isolate.

So, this year was his first performance live at the final.  And he managed to make Whole Again by Atomic Kitten:

(I’m sorry that’s the only video from the event, the official ones are geoblocked in the States.)

I got bored before Eurovision, so I added something to my baseball cap:

Next weekend, I’m going to be in Bradford for the festivals in Leeds.  I’m still trying to find something to do on the Friday night and on the Monday.  Must admit, for the Friday, I’m trying to decide between going to see When Rivers Meet and going to an adult session at an inflatable playpark.

I’ve refixed the patches to my new jacket.  The fabric glue I was using before wasn’t cutting it, so I got extra strong carpet adhesive.  They’re not going anywhere.

Will

Log in to write a note
May 21, 2023

Yeah, I have a feeling too that 2024 will be the year of Abba. That means I have been around as long as they have (born in 1974)

Go to the adult thing at the playpark. Tomorrow I am going to check out some Victoria Day celebrations in the nearby park. Should be good!!