Serious question for Americans

I’ve heard that one of the strikes against Obama and Biden is that they seem too interlectual. I’ve heard that one of the things that Bush Jr. had going for him and that Palin has in her favour if she runs for President is that they seem like people you can have a drink with.

My question is simply this: what the frak is it with the apparent national obsession with your leader being like that? I’m not being facetious, I genuinely want to know. It’s been bugging me for a while.

For example: Brian seems like a nice guy. I probably would be able to have a couple of drinks with him and shoot the shit (or argue about the state of Scottish football). But if I was hospitalised tomorrow and told I needed my appendix out, I wouldn’t want him. I’d want a damn surgeon.

Over here, one of the biggest cries is to get Vince Cable into the cabinet. Hang the fact that he’s not a member of the Labour party, he seems to know what he’s talking about (dude predicted the current global economic situation and the MP expenses scandal) and so he should be in a position to do something about it.

So, why is it apparently different in the States? Don’t you want the smartest person in the room leading you? Don’t you want someone who at least appears to know what they are talking about? I’m not asking to wind people up.

Will


[ writers anonymous logo ]

Widgets & Flash Toys

Log in to write a note
July 15, 2009

Slow Joe Biden has never been accused of being intellectual. The Obama gives good teleprompter. If that is what passes for ‘smart’ over there in the UK, you take them.

July 15, 2009

Slow Joe Biden has never been accused of being intellectual. The Obama gives good teleprompter. If that is what passes for ‘smart’ over there in the UK, you take them.

July 15, 2009

Slow Joe Biden has never been accused of being intellectual. The Obama gives good teleprompter. If that is what passes for ‘smart’ over there in the UK, you take them.

July 15, 2009

DITTO the above note.

July 15, 2009

DITTO the above note.

July 15, 2009

DITTO the above note.

July 15, 2009

The above two comments answer your question.

July 15, 2009

The above two comments answer your question.

July 15, 2009

The above two comments answer your question.

July 15, 2009

I feel exactly like you. I don’t want an ordinary guy (or gal) with his finger on the nuclear button. I don’t want an ordinary guy designing health or energy or foreign policy. I want someone who knows what they’re doing. Americans have an obsession with the ordinary because of the myth that we live in a classless society. Of course it’s just that, a myth. The class system is not as rigid as

July 15, 2009

I feel exactly like you. I don’t want an ordinary guy (or gal) with his finger on the nuclear button. I don’t want an ordinary guy designing health or energy or foreign policy. I want someone who knows what they’re doing. Americans have an obsession with the ordinary because of the myth that we live in a classless society. Of course it’s just that, a myth. The class system is not as rigid as

July 15, 2009

I feel exactly like you. I don’t want an ordinary guy (or gal) with his finger on the nuclear button. I don’t want an ordinary guy designing health or energy or foreign policy. I want someone who knows what they’re doing. Americans have an obsession with the ordinary because of the myth that we live in a classless society. Of course it’s just that, a myth. The class system is not as rigid as

July 15, 2009

in perhaps Britain or India and is more flexible. But we like to think that America is a meritocracy. We also tend to like politicians who can identify with the little guy. This is a crock of sh*t of course. Most major national politicians are millionaires. Bush Jr was famously seen as an ordinary guy despite coming from one of the most old blood patrician families in America

July 15, 2009

in perhaps Britain or India and is more flexible. But we like to think that America is a meritocracy. We also tend to like politicians who can identify with the little guy. This is a crock of sh*t of course. Most major national politicians are millionaires. Bush Jr was famously seen as an ordinary guy despite coming from one of the most old blood patrician families in America

July 15, 2009

in perhaps Britain or India and is more flexible. But we like to think that America is a meritocracy. We also tend to like politicians who can identify with the little guy. This is a crock of sh*t of course. Most major national politicians are millionaires. Bush Jr was famously seen as an ordinary guy despite coming from one of the most old blood patrician families in America

July 15, 2009

(his grandfather was a US senator, his father a president, ambassador and CIA director, his brother a governor) It’s all a ruse but people buy it. I’m not sure why. Ours is the only major country I know of whose revolution was led by the middle and upper classes, rather than the peasants. You’d think our tradition wouldn’t be so anti-intellectual…

July 15, 2009

(his grandfather was a US senator, his father a president, ambassador and CIA director, his brother a governor) It’s all a ruse but people buy it. I’m not sure why. Ours is the only major country I know of whose revolution was led by the middle and upper classes, rather than the peasants. You’d think our tradition wouldn’t be so anti-intellectual…

July 15, 2009

(his grandfather was a US senator, his father a president, ambassador and CIA director, his brother a governor) It’s all a ruse but people buy it. I’m not sure why. Ours is the only major country I know of whose revolution was led by the middle and upper classes, rather than the peasants. You’d think our tradition wouldn’t be so anti-intellectual…

July 15, 2009

It’s quite bizarre. The “American Dream” is that an ordinary Joe can get to the top with a lot of hard work. Yet when they do get to the top, they have to be careful about being “elitist” (aka: appearing smart). It’s insane that Obama who actually came from humble roots is considered elitist but Bush Jr born with a silver foot in his mouth is seen as an ordinary Joe.

July 15, 2009

It’s quite bizarre. The “American Dream” is that an ordinary Joe can get to the top with a lot of hard work. Yet when they do get to the top, they have to be careful about being “elitist” (aka: appearing smart). It’s insane that Obama who actually came from humble roots is considered elitist but Bush Jr born with a silver foot in his mouth is seen as an ordinary Joe.

July 15, 2009

It’s quite bizarre. The “American Dream” is that an ordinary Joe can get to the top with a lot of hard work. Yet when they do get to the top, they have to be careful about being “elitist” (aka: appearing smart). It’s insane that Obama who actually came from humble roots is considered elitist but Bush Jr born with a silver foot in his mouth is seen as an ordinary Joe.

July 15, 2009

I dunno like….I wouldn’t have a drink with Bush-he came across as a twat as far as I could see. but then again, I aint american 😛

July 15, 2009

I dunno like….I wouldn’t have a drink with Bush-he came across as a twat as far as I could see. but then again, I aint american 😛

July 15, 2009

I dunno like….I wouldn’t have a drink with Bush-he came across as a twat as far as I could see. but then again, I aint american 😛

July 15, 2009

I was thinking about this the other day, and it hit me: While the US is more open about it, it happens everywhere. The mayor of London, for example, I know is considered a major up-and-comer in the UK. And while he seems intelligent, he’s also funny and charming and someone who seems really cool.

July 15, 2009

I was thinking about this the other day, and it hit me: While the US is more open about it, it happens everywhere. The mayor of London, for example, I know is considered a major up-and-comer in the UK. And while he seems intelligent, he’s also funny and charming and someone who seems really cool.

July 15, 2009

I was thinking about this the other day, and it hit me: While the US is more open about it, it happens everywhere. The mayor of London, for example, I know is considered a major up-and-comer in the UK. And while he seems intelligent, he’s also funny and charming and someone who seems really cool.

July 15, 2009

In every country, politicians have to constantly worry about humanizing themselves. They’re always trying to make sure they don’t seem too “elitist”. I mean, in Canada, the Conservatives have been running attack ads on the leader of the Liberals, quoting him calling himself arrogant. And shortly after his election, Harper did a photo op of walking his kids to school.

July 15, 2009

In every country, politicians have to constantly worry about humanizing themselves. They’re always trying to make sure they don’t seem too “elitist”. I mean, in Canada, the Conservatives have been running attack ads on the leader of the Liberals, quoting him calling himself arrogant. And shortly after his election, Harper did a photo op of walking his kids to school.

July 15, 2009

In every country, politicians have to constantly worry about humanizing themselves. They’re always trying to make sure they don’t seem too “elitist”. I mean, in Canada, the Conservatives have been running attack ads on the leader of the Liberals, quoting him calling himself arrogant. And shortly after his election, Harper did a photo op of walking his kids to school.

July 15, 2009

It was a clear attempt to seem more relatable. Then he shook his kids’ hands, which made him look stiff and formal. So the photo op really didn’t go over very well. In any event, the US is just more extreme about it, but every country does it.

July 15, 2009

It was a clear attempt to seem more relatable. Then he shook his kids’ hands, which made him look stiff and formal. So the photo op really didn’t go over very well. In any event, the US is just more extreme about it, but every country does it.

July 15, 2009

It was a clear attempt to seem more relatable. Then he shook his kids’ hands, which made him look stiff and formal. So the photo op really didn’t go over very well. In any event, the US is just more extreme about it, but every country does it.

July 15, 2009

Tiamatty’s comments are quite interesting about Boris, I have to confess from my Yanko-Welsh perspective, he seems the smiley-charmy type who would appeal to the American voter.

July 15, 2009

Tiamatty’s comments are quite interesting about Boris, I have to confess from my Yanko-Welsh perspective, he seems the smiley-charmy type who would appeal to the American voter.

July 15, 2009

Tiamatty’s comments are quite interesting about Boris, I have to confess from my Yanko-Welsh perspective, he seems the smiley-charmy type who would appeal to the American voter.

July 15, 2009

I can tell you why people buy it. And for the record, I feel the same too. I don’t want Joe the Plumber making foreign policy decisions no matter how much I get along with him personally. You should find the documentary “Right America: Feeling Wronged”… it’ll explain a lot. Anyways, I think in America we love to feel emotionally connected. It makes people feel good to know “that person’slike me” or “I feel good about voting for them because I can relate to them.” And I think it happens on both sides of America’s political spectrum. Black America felt connected to Obama in ways they’d never been able to with other politicians. Veterans flocked to McCain for what he had been through in Vietnam. But to me, the big difference between blacks to Obama and average Joes to McCain/Palin is that one party definitely exploited it more. “Joe the Plumber” became a celebrity… he’s even been featured at anti-tax rallies as the main draw after the election. You had Palin slamming the “elite” Obama while she billed herself as the Hockey Mom, moose hunting Alaskan. It’s easy for us to vote for things and people who are “like us.” But personally, I think emotion can…

July 15, 2009

I can tell you why people buy it. And for the record, I feel the same too. I don’t want Joe the Plumber making foreign policy decisions no matter how much I get along with him personally. You should find the documentary “Right America: Feeling Wronged”… it’ll explain a lot. Anyways, I think in America we love to feel emotionally connected. It makes people feel good to know “that person’slike me” or “I feel good about voting for them because I can relate to them.” And I think it happens on both sides of America’s political spectrum. Black America felt connected to Obama in ways they’d never been able to with other politicians. Veterans flocked to McCain for what he had been through in Vietnam. But to me, the big difference between blacks to Obama and average Joes to McCain/Palin is that one party definitely exploited it more. “Joe the Plumber” became a celebrity… he’s even been featured at anti-tax rallies as the main draw after the election. You had Palin slamming the “elite” Obama while she billed herself as the Hockey Mom, moose hunting Alaskan. It’s easy for us to vote for things and people who are “like us.” But personally, I think emotion can…

July 15, 2009

I can tell you why people buy it. And for the record, I feel the same too. I don’t want Joe the Plumber making foreign policy decisions no matter how much I get along with him personally. You should find the documentary “Right America: Feeling Wronged”… it’ll explain a lot. Anyways, I think in America we love to feel emotionally connected. It makes people feel good to know “that person’slike me” or “I feel good about voting for them because I can relate to them.” And I think it happens on both sides of America’s political spectrum. Black America felt connected to Obama in ways they’d never been able to with other politicians. Veterans flocked to McCain for what he had been through in Vietnam. But to me, the big difference between blacks to Obama and average Joes to McCain/Palin is that one party definitely exploited it more. “Joe the Plumber” became a celebrity… he’s even been featured at anti-tax rallies as the main draw after the election. You had Palin slamming the “elite” Obama while she billed herself as the Hockey Mom, moose hunting Alaskan. It’s easy for us to vote for things and people who are “like us.” But personally, I think emotion can…

July 15, 2009

…be almost dangerous. It clouds judgment. How many of us have resisted confronting a friend on something important because we LIKE them? I know that’s happened to me. People get so emotionally wrapped up in social issues like abortion and gay marriage that it will absolutely trump everything else a person stands for. So what I think happens is that Palin appears to the most basic human emotions. She’s LIKABLE. She talks like I do. Her kids play HOCKEY. She goes HUNTING. Hey, I do all those things! And she points it out. I’m sure there are black folks who said “Obama’s black, I’m voting for him.” But I don’t recall Obama ever saying “I’m black like YOU, vote for me!” People like Sarah Palin know exactly what they’re doing by appealing to the very basics in people. When people feel connected to someone, they forget that “someone like them” is going to be making the most important decisions in the world. It’s uncomfortable to look in the mirror sometimes, but you have to… and at the end of the day, there’s no way in HELL I trust myself to decide foreign policy, health care, or national security. If I keep that in mind and choose EITHER party, I can live with myself.

July 15, 2009

…be almost dangerous. It clouds judgment. How many of us have resisted confronting a friend on something important because we LIKE them? I know that’s happened to me. People get so emotionally wrapped up in social issues like abortion and gay marriage that it will absolutely trump everything else a person stands for. So what I think happens is that Palin appears to the most basic human emotions. She’s LIKABLE. She talks like I do. Her kids play HOCKEY. She goes HUNTING. Hey, I do all those things! And she points it out. I’m sure there are black folks who said “Obama’s black, I’m voting for him.” But I don’t recall Obama ever saying “I’m black like YOU, vote for me!” People like Sarah Palin know exactly what they’re doing by appealing to the very basics in people. When people feel connected to someone, they forget that “someone like them” is going to be making the most important decisions in the world. It’s uncomfortable to look in the mirror sometimes, but you have to… and at the end of the day, there’s no way in HELL I trust myself to decide foreign policy, health care, or national security. If I keep that in mind and choose EITHER party, I can live with myself.

July 15, 2009

…be almost dangerous. It clouds judgment. How many of us have resisted confronting a friend on something important because we LIKE them? I know that’s happened to me. People get so emotionally wrapped up in social issues like abortion and gay marriage that it will absolutely trump everything else a person stands for. So what I think happens is that Palin appears to the most basic human emotions. She’s LIKABLE. She talks like I do. Her kids play HOCKEY. She goes HUNTING. Hey, I do all those things! And she points it out. I’m sure there are black folks who said “Obama’s black, I’m voting for him.” But I don’t recall Obama ever saying “I’m black like YOU, vote for me!” People like Sarah Palin know exactly what they’re doing by appealing to the very basics in people. When people feel connected to someone, they forget that “someone like them” is going to be making the most important decisions in the world. It’s uncomfortable to look in the mirror sometimes, but you have to… and at the end of the day, there’s no way in HELL I trust myself to decide foreign policy, health care, or national security. If I keep that in mind and choose EITHER party, I can live with myself.

July 15, 2009

Ralph Nader has told a story about how when he was a kid and came home from school, his dad would ask him “Did you learn at school how to think or how to feel?” Americans, not just at school, are taught how to feel. Even “intelligent” political shows here are based on emotion (usually anger and grievance) rather than insight or facts. That’s our culture. Thinking is hard, feeling instinctive.

July 15, 2009

Ralph Nader has told a story about how when he was a kid and came home from school, his dad would ask him “Did you learn at school how to think or how to feel?” Americans, not just at school, are taught how to feel. Even “intelligent” political shows here are based on emotion (usually anger and grievance) rather than insight or facts. That’s our culture. Thinking is hard, feeling instinctive.

July 15, 2009

Ralph Nader has told a story about how when he was a kid and came home from school, his dad would ask him “Did you learn at school how to think or how to feel?” Americans, not just at school, are taught how to feel. Even “intelligent” political shows here are based on emotion (usually anger and grievance) rather than insight or facts. That’s our culture. Thinking is hard, feeling instinctive.

America has been “dumbing down” for decades. Compare an American magazine or newspaper from the 1940’s to the mainstream tripe printed today. The difference in the reading comprehension levels is frightening. Thanks to the Youtubes and the Internets it is not difficult to call out the ignorant lawmakers we have representing us in government. Sara Palin is too easy a target. Do a google searchfor Michelle Bachman and factcheck some of her rants to Congress. Compared to her, Sara Palin looks like a Rhodes scholar. “Fair and balanced” Fox masquerading as a “News Network” is ludicrous.(http://www.newshounds.us/) It makes me embarrassed to be an American. Thanks to George Bush we now have “No child left behind”. Kids in the schools are being taught what they will be tested on to make the school look good. Forget about teaching any kind of critical thinking or individuality. The future for America is frightening.. I’m so thankful I’m not responsible for breeding children into this sad world…..

America has been “dumbing down” for decades. Compare an American magazine or newspaper from the 1940’s to the mainstream tripe printed today. The difference in the reading comprehension levels is frightening. Thanks to the Youtubes and the Internets it is not difficult to call out the ignorant lawmakers we have representing us in government. Sara Palin is too easy a target. Do a google searchfor Michelle Bachman and factcheck some of her rants to Congress. Compared to her, Sara Palin looks like a Rhodes scholar. “Fair and balanced” Fox masquerading as a “News Network” is ludicrous.(http://www.newshounds.us/) It makes me embarrassed to be an American. Thanks to George Bush we now have “No child left behind”. Kids in the schools are being taught what they will be tested on to make the school look good. Forget about teaching any kind of critical thinking or individuality. The future for America is frightening.. I’m so thankful I’m not responsible for breeding children into this sad world…..

America has been “dumbing down” for decades. Compare an American magazine or newspaper from the 1940’s to the mainstream tripe printed today. The difference in the reading comprehension levels is frightening. Thanks to the Youtubes and the Internets it is not difficult to call out the ignorant lawmakers we have representing us in government. Sara Palin is too easy a target. Do a google searchfor Michelle Bachman and factcheck some of her rants to Congress. Compared to her, Sara Palin looks like a Rhodes scholar. “Fair and balanced” Fox masquerading as a “News Network” is ludicrous.(http://www.newshounds.us/) It makes me embarrassed to be an American. Thanks to George Bush we now have “No child left behind”. Kids in the schools are being taught what they will be tested on to make the school look good. Forget about teaching any kind of critical thinking or individuality. The future for America is frightening.. I’m so thankful I’m not responsible for breeding children into this sad world…..

July 15, 2009

I think that the intellectual factor regarding President Obama versus President Bush is that people (both from the liberal and from the conservative side of things) perceive that intelligence equals elitism. Hence, if this person is so smart, they will surely be able to understand foreign policy and remember lots of things but how will they relate to the general public? They will be too busy…

July 15, 2009

I think that the intellectual factor regarding President Obama versus President Bush is that people (both from the liberal and from the conservative side of things) perceive that intelligence equals elitism. Hence, if this person is so smart, they will surely be able to understand foreign policy and remember lots of things but how will they relate to the general public? They will be too busy…

July 15, 2009

I think that the intellectual factor regarding President Obama versus President Bush is that people (both from the liberal and from the conservative side of things) perceive that intelligence equals elitism. Hence, if this person is so smart, they will surely be able to understand foreign policy and remember lots of things but how will they relate to the general public? They will be too busy…

July 15, 2009

…being smart and not busy enough “getting things done.” I think we’re really big on our politicians “getting things done.” And educated people, or even people who “seem” educated, will be too brainy to get things done. Or so we think. It doesn’t make any sense, for the most part, but you have to remember how many people we have in our gen pop.

July 15, 2009

…being smart and not busy enough “getting things done.” I think we’re really big on our politicians “getting things done.” And educated people, or even people who “seem” educated, will be too brainy to get things done. Or so we think. It doesn’t make any sense, for the most part, but you have to remember how many people we have in our gen pop.

July 15, 2009

…being smart and not busy enough “getting things done.” I think we’re really big on our politicians “getting things done.” And educated people, or even people who “seem” educated, will be too brainy to get things done. Or so we think. It doesn’t make any sense, for the most part, but you have to remember how many people we have in our gen pop.

July 15, 2009

My two cents: If we are to survive as a country, we have to suck it up and let people who are generally smarter than “we” are “lead” us. I find about 85% of the folks in this country to be… well… uh… dumb in most respects. (I am willfully dumb; I don’t believe my intellect is of service in the current social climate, and radicalism just takes too much energy.) Dumb ain’t bad; it just shouldn’t lead this freakin’ country into the 21st century and beyond. Dumb is what GOT us into these messes, these crises; my only hope is that smart can start to dig us out. I don’t care who is fun to drink beer with; what matters is who is able to clean up after and deal with the drama and fallout and whatnot. I think Obama and Biden CAN do that, given the chance. Whining is an American pastime! We love it. We love to blame others, too. Baseball shmaseball; Whining is King. 🙂

July 15, 2009

My two cents: If we are to survive as a country, we have to suck it up and let people who are generally smarter than “we” are “lead” us. I find about 85% of the folks in this country to be… well… uh… dumb in most respects. (I am willfully dumb; I don’t believe my intellect is of service in the current social climate, and radicalism just takes too much energy.) Dumb ain’t bad; it just shouldn’t lead this freakin’ country into the 21st century and beyond. Dumb is what GOT us into these messes, these crises; my only hope is that smart can start to dig us out. I don’t care who is fun to drink beer with; what matters is who is able to clean up after and deal with the drama and fallout and whatnot. I think Obama and Biden CAN do that, given the chance. Whining is an American pastime! We love it. We love to blame others, too. Baseball shmaseball; Whining is King. 🙂

July 15, 2009

My two cents: If we are to survive as a country, we have to suck it up and let people who are generally smarter than “we” are “lead” us. I find about 85% of the folks in this country to be… well… uh… dumb in most respects. (I am willfully dumb; I don’t believe my intellect is of service in the current social climate, and radicalism just takes too much energy.) Dumb ain’t bad; it just shouldn’t lead this freakin’ country into the 21st century and beyond. Dumb is what GOT us into these messes, these crises; my only hope is that smart can start to dig us out. I don’t care who is fun to drink beer with; what matters is who is able to clean up after and deal with the drama and fallout and whatnot. I think Obama and Biden CAN do that, given the chance. Whining is an American pastime! We love it. We love to blame others, too. Baseball shmaseball; Whining is King. 🙂

July 16, 2009

ryn What is it about ugly landscape that is not clear to the gentle reader? In a series of entries, I have recounted as how the drive from Sacramento to San Francisco was, in the mid-1950s, cluttered with billboards (large advertising devices that blocked out the view of farmlands and golden hills). An effort was made (and was successful) to rid the sides of the highways of the billboards. Nowthe view of that landscape is threatened with an even uglier clutter … wind-powered electrical generators and solar (photovoltaic) panels as far as the eye can see. I shall go now and read your entry. Oh!! I see that you have been blessed with supportive statements from [Tiamatty]. Lucky bloody you!

July 16, 2009

ryn What is it about ugly landscape that is not clear to the gentle reader? In a series of entries, I have recounted as how the drive from Sacramento to San Francisco was, in the mid-1950s, cluttered with billboards (large advertising devices that blocked out the view of farmlands and golden hills). An effort was made (and was successful) to rid the sides of the highways of the billboards. Nowthe view of that landscape is threatened with an even uglier clutter … wind-powered electrical generators and solar (photovoltaic) panels as far as the eye can see. I shall go now and read your entry. Oh!! I see that you have been blessed with supportive statements from [Tiamatty]. Lucky bloody you!

July 16, 2009

ryn What is it about ugly landscape that is not clear to the gentle reader? In a series of entries, I have recounted as how the drive from Sacramento to San Francisco was, in the mid-1950s, cluttered with billboards (large advertising devices that blocked out the view of farmlands and golden hills). An effort was made (and was successful) to rid the sides of the highways of the billboards. Nowthe view of that landscape is threatened with an even uglier clutter … wind-powered electrical generators and solar (photovoltaic) panels as far as the eye can see. I shall go now and read your entry. Oh!! I see that you have been blessed with supportive statements from [Tiamatty]. Lucky bloody you!

July 16, 2009

Where on earth did you hear that our dear President was “intellectual”? Obama is a “talker”. That is quite another thing. As for having a drink with him, I am not aware that he is given to drink. That is the characteristic ascribed to his wife Michelle. If you want to cozy up to Barak, you should be prepared to smoke a blunt with him. That’s okay. Rare is the American under the age of seventy who hasn’t smoked a little boo at one time or another. I, for one, do not want a President who could be a good chum. I am two degrees of separation away from all of our Presidents from Kennedy to the Obama. I don’t know about the guys at the top, but the guys just under that level are real sharp in the “intellectual” department. It’s hard to believe that people like Johnson, Ford, Carter, Clinton and Obama can match that level of intellect.

July 16, 2009

Where on earth did you hear that our dear President was “intellectual”? Obama is a “talker”. That is quite another thing. As for having a drink with him, I am not aware that he is given to drink. That is the characteristic ascribed to his wife Michelle. If you want to cozy up to Barak, you should be prepared to smoke a blunt with him. That’s okay. Rare is the American under the age of seventy who hasn’t smoked a little boo at one time or another. I, for one, do not want a President who could be a good chum. I am two degrees of separation away from all of our Presidents from Kennedy to the Obama. I don’t know about the guys at the top, but the guys just under that level are real sharp in the “intellectual” department. It’s hard to believe that people like Johnson, Ford, Carter, Clinton and Obama can match that level of intellect.

July 16, 2009

Where on earth did you hear that our dear President was “intellectual”? Obama is a “talker”. That is quite another thing. As for having a drink with him, I am not aware that he is given to drink. That is the characteristic ascribed to his wife Michelle. If you want to cozy up to Barak, you should be prepared to smoke a blunt with him. That’s okay. Rare is the American under the age of seventy who hasn’t smoked a little boo at one time or another. I, for one, do not want a President who could be a good chum. I am two degrees of separation away from all of our Presidents from Kennedy to the Obama. I don’t know about the guys at the top, but the guys just under that level are real sharp in the “intellectual” department. It’s hard to believe that people like Johnson, Ford, Carter, Clinton and Obama can match that level of intellect.

July 19, 2009

I think the thought process is that a politician that seems more “on our level” is more likely to care about the “little guy” and represent us better. It never actually turns out that way, but the fantasy persists. And I must say, no way would I ever want to have a drink with Palin. This IS the country that cares more what celebrities have to say than politicians, don’t forget.

July 19, 2009

I think the thought process is that a politician that seems more “on our level” is more likely to care about the “little guy” and represent us better. It never actually turns out that way, but the fantasy persists. And I must say, no way would I ever want to have a drink with Palin. This IS the country that cares more what celebrities have to say than politicians, don’t forget.

July 19, 2009

I think the thought process is that a politician that seems more “on our level” is more likely to care about the “little guy” and represent us better. It never actually turns out that way, but the fantasy persists. And I must say, no way would I ever want to have a drink with Palin. This IS the country that cares more what celebrities have to say than politicians, don’t forget.

July 19, 2009

Mediocrity isn’t unique to American politicians. Have a look at how many of our people voted for UKIP in the last elections. Clarksonesque idiots with nary a grasp on the basic principles of the political arena they live in. We vote for morons that sound like our slightly racist but dim uncles too…

July 19, 2009

Mediocrity isn’t unique to American politicians. Have a look at how many of our people voted for UKIP in the last elections. Clarksonesque idiots with nary a grasp on the basic principles of the political arena they live in. We vote for morons that sound like our slightly racist but dim uncles too…

July 19, 2009

Mediocrity isn’t unique to American politicians. Have a look at how many of our people voted for UKIP in the last elections. Clarksonesque idiots with nary a grasp on the basic principles of the political arena they live in. We vote for morons that sound like our slightly racist but dim uncles too…