Short Story: You Are What Life Makes You

Life is what you make it. That was the lesson that was imprinted on my brain since before I can remember. But here’s one you may not have heard:

You are what life makes you.

And here I sit. With nothing but time on my side. So I am able to ponder the event that led to this.

I thought things were so fucking simple. Then the event.

I guess I pissed off the wrong deity. Not sure which one. Either that or the cosmos decided to have some fun with me.

I had a normal life. At least by the standard definition. Wife, kids, the whole kit and caboodle. Then I got the offer.

Was going to say no. Why was I going to say anything else? There was literally nothing else I wanted. But then he pulled out the trump card.

A video. Of the future. I know how that sounds, but it did look amazingly real.

Me and the missus, we were fine. Completely fine.

Well, apart from the fact that we barely spoke and introduced each other to our respective girl/boyfriends. In her case, both.

My son, my darling boy, had been killed in a hit and run. He wasn’t even supposed to be there, but there he was.

As for my little girl, she couldn’t cope. A very rapid descent into drugs. She ended up as a crack whore.

It was all very convincing. And all I had to do to change things was win a coin toss. So I went for it.

And this is what life made me.

Eternal, stuck in this room, surrounded by images of my family getting on with life.

And the guy who won the toss dating my wife.

Log in to write a note

Were you smokin somethin when you wrote this? It doesnt make much sense nor is it very good.

Were you smokin somethin when you wrote this? It doesnt make much sense nor is it very good.

Were you smokin somethin when you wrote this? It doesnt make much sense nor is it very good.

March 30, 2008

Why am I not surprised that the insulting note isn’t signed? *sighs* Some people… *points* Look, my icon’s up! *happy dance* ~Shady

March 30, 2008

Why am I not surprised that the insulting note isn’t signed? *sighs* Some people… *points* Look, my icon’s up! *happy dance* ~Shady

March 30, 2008

Why am I not surprised that the insulting note isn’t signed? *sighs* Some people… *points* Look, my icon’s up! *happy dance* ~Shady

March 30, 2008

RYN: Oh, I agree! The cops did great, it’s the school officials that annoyed me, hence the *high five* to the kids since this is now going to put the school under scrutiny. *wink* ~Shady

March 30, 2008

RYN: Oh, I agree! The cops did great, it’s the school officials that annoyed me, hence the *high five* to the kids since this is now going to put the school under scrutiny. *wink* ~Shady

March 30, 2008

RYN: Oh, I agree! The cops did great, it’s the school officials that annoyed me, hence the *high five* to the kids since this is now going to put the school under scrutiny. *wink* ~Shady

March 31, 2008

I wish the 12 year olds would go to play elsewhere. I really liked this. Very thoughtful… got me thinking… I mean the whole “sliding doors” thing… wouldn’t it just be the worst thing to actually see how your life would have panned out if you’d just done something differently? The worst torture would be seeing it turn out so much better… anyway, sorry, that’s completely off track. xo

March 31, 2008

I wish the 12 year olds would go to play elsewhere. I really liked this. Very thoughtful… got me thinking… I mean the whole “sliding doors” thing… wouldn’t it just be the worst thing to actually see how your life would have panned out if you’d just done something differently? The worst torture would be seeing it turn out so much better… anyway, sorry, that’s completely off track. xo

March 31, 2008

I wish the 12 year olds would go to play elsewhere. I really liked this. Very thoughtful… got me thinking… I mean the whole “sliding doors” thing… wouldn’t it just be the worst thing to actually see how your life would have panned out if you’d just done something differently? The worst torture would be seeing it turn out so much better… anyway, sorry, that’s completely off track. xo

Damn

Damn

Damn