Various stuff *EDIT*

So, no treat for you yet. I’m not going to say what it was going to be, because it could happen this weekend.

For the past few days I’ve been craving spaghetti bolognaise. So, tomorrow, I’m going to cook some for myself. Can’t wait.

And I’mgearing up for Script Frenzy. I’ve actually decided to work on episodes 5 and 6 of the series. Due to the way it’s structured, that makes most sense.

Oh, and big thanks to A Rather Shady Mogwi for the awesome icon. I especially love the fact that if the border was removed it would blend right in to the background.:¬)

Rant time.

As you lot probably know, Simon Pegg is playing Scotty in the new star Trek film. As you probably also know, my choice would have been someone who is actually Scottish. But I was willing to go along with thing.

Then today, I read an interview that Pegg did with aintitcool.com in which he states that he has been working on his accent with his wife, his family in Scotland and a crewmember who is Glaswegian.

Yup, it looks like Scottish Accent Symdrome has struck again.

SAS, for those who are unaware, is the tendency for people outside Scotland to assume that when playing a Scottish character, a vaguely sounding accent will suffice, regardless of where the character is actually from. So, you get an Orkadian who sounds Glaswegian, A Glaswegian who has a strange Borders mix accent and, in this case, an Aberdonian with a Glaswegian accent.

While there are regional versions in England (everyone from the north east is Geordie, everyone from London is either a toff or a cockney), the syndrome gets it’s name as it assumes that Scots have interchangable accents.

(For American readers, imagine how annoying it would be is a character from upper Manhattan had a deep south accent.)

While it won’t stop me from enjoying the film (JJ Abrams may just do that), it is still going to irk me.

Rant over.

Hopefully, I’ll be able to watch the Scotland match in the union bar. And hopefully Scotland will win so I can take the piss out of my English friends.

Anyhoo, have to go watch a film. Speak later.

Will

Log in to write a note
March 26, 2008

whoop! front page! and I totally agree with the accent thing! I’m from Aberdeen-born and bred-and watching (if i ever do watch) River City damn near kills me! That Rosins “Aberdonian accent” drives me nuts!

March 26, 2008

whoop! front page! and I totally agree with the accent thing! I’m from Aberdeen-born and bred-and watching (if i ever do watch) River City damn near kills me! That Rosins “Aberdonian accent” drives me nuts!

March 26, 2008

whoop! front page! and I totally agree with the accent thing! I’m from Aberdeen-born and bred-and watching (if i ever do watch) River City damn near kills me! That Rosins “Aberdonian accent” drives me nuts!

March 26, 2008

A treat!

March 26, 2008

A treat!

March 26, 2008

A treat!

Nu uh! not everyone in the north east is a Geordie 🙂 people from Sunderland are Mackems and people from Durham and Middlesbrough are also something else. I just can’t remember what yet. We do sound similar but there is a difference, Newcastle has a much broader accent than we do.

Nu uh! not everyone in the north east is a Geordie 🙂 people from Sunderland are Mackems and people from Durham and Middlesbrough are also something else. I just can’t remember what yet. We do sound similar but there is a difference, Newcastle has a much broader accent than we do.

Nu uh! not everyone in the north east is a Geordie 🙂 people from Sunderland are Mackems and people from Durham and Middlesbrough are also something else. I just can’t remember what yet. We do sound similar but there is a difference, Newcastle has a much broader accent than we do.

March 26, 2008

The treat sounds intriguing… ^^ The accent thing bugs the crap out of me too. Hopefully it won’t be too bad, because I really don’t want to see Pegg and want to bash him over the head. :o)

March 26, 2008

The treat sounds intriguing… ^^ The accent thing bugs the crap out of me too. Hopefully it won’t be too bad, because I really don’t want to see Pegg and want to bash him over the head. :o)

March 26, 2008

The treat sounds intriguing… ^^ The accent thing bugs the crap out of me too. Hopefully it won’t be too bad, because I really don’t want to see Pegg and want to bash him over the head. :o)

The worst case of SAS ever is in The Princess Diaries. Urgh. I’m not Scottish and it made my soul hurt. (Well, actually, I am Scottish, I’m just not, you know, “from Scotland” Scottish.) ~

The worst case of SAS ever is in The Princess Diaries. Urgh. I’m not Scottish and it made my soul hurt. (Well, actually, I am Scottish, I’m just not, you know, “from Scotland” Scottish.) ~

The worst case of SAS ever is in The Princess Diaries. Urgh. I’m not Scottish and it made my soul hurt. (Well, actually, I am Scottish, I’m just not, you know, “from Scotland” Scottish.) ~

It won’t be nearly as bad as Kevin Costner’s “english” accent in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves. *shudders*

It won’t be nearly as bad as Kevin Costner’s “english” accent in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves. *shudders*

It won’t be nearly as bad as Kevin Costner’s “english” accent in Robin Hood: Prince of Thieves. *shudders*

you are so hot. 🙂

you are so hot. 🙂

you are so hot. 🙂

March 26, 2008

Tada! Check out the edit on your icon page… 🙂 ~Shady

March 26, 2008

Tada! Check out the edit on your icon page… 🙂 ~Shady

March 26, 2008

Tada! Check out the edit on your icon page… 🙂 ~Shady

I read your note on my friend JinJen’s page. I can’t stand the whole thing with the Scottish accent. Most people in Aberdeen are utterly embarrassed by Roisin from River City and her accent. I have no Aberdeen friends that speak the way that she does! It’s shocking x

I read your note on my friend JinJen’s page. I can’t stand the whole thing with the Scottish accent. Most people in Aberdeen are utterly embarrassed by Roisin from River City and her accent. I have no Aberdeen friends that speak the way that she does! It’s shocking x

I read your note on my friend JinJen’s page. I can’t stand the whole thing with the Scottish accent. Most people in Aberdeen are utterly embarrassed by Roisin from River City and her accent. I have no Aberdeen friends that speak the way that she does! It’s shocking x

*cracks up at donut’s note* Oh Christ, was that horrible. I only watch that movie because of Alan Rickman. ryn: Yes, and the software has to be ordered. It’s not very expensive, but The Stepdad wants to see if we can get the Zen fixed first. ~

*cracks up at donut’s note* Oh Christ, was that horrible. I only watch that movie because of Alan Rickman. ryn: Yes, and the software has to be ordered. It’s not very expensive, but The Stepdad wants to see if we can get the Zen fixed first. ~

*cracks up at donut’s note* Oh Christ, was that horrible. I only watch that movie because of Alan Rickman. ryn: Yes, and the software has to be ordered. It’s not very expensive, but The Stepdad wants to see if we can get the Zen fixed first. ~

March 27, 2008

How nice to find a fellow aberdonian on od! So what u doing in Middlesbourgh? x

March 27, 2008

How nice to find a fellow aberdonian on od! So what u doing in Middlesbourgh? x

March 27, 2008

How nice to find a fellow aberdonian on od! So what u doing in Middlesbourgh? x

March 28, 2008

Simon Pegg appears kind of cool, though, so it can’t possibly be as bad as Tom Cruise’s Oirish accent. Beeeeeh.

March 28, 2008

Simon Pegg appears kind of cool, though, so it can’t possibly be as bad as Tom Cruise’s Oirish accent. Beeeeeh.

March 28, 2008

Simon Pegg appears kind of cool, though, so it can’t possibly be as bad as Tom Cruise’s Oirish accent. Beeeeeh.

March 28, 2008

Why do they always hire Brits to portray Southern Americans? It’s one of those mysteries that will never be solved. *sigh* ~

March 28, 2008

Why do they always hire Brits to portray Southern Americans? It’s one of those mysteries that will never be solved. *sigh* ~

March 28, 2008

Why do they always hire Brits to portray Southern Americans? It’s one of those mysteries that will never be solved. *sigh* ~