The End of Time Review *EDIT*

AKA: the entry where I lose/annoy some of my readers.

I do have to point out that there will be spoilers in this entry. If you haven’t seen the two parter in question, go read something else. Or go back an entry to ask me questions.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.
W
A
R
N
I
N
G
.
.
.
H
E
R
E
.
.
.
B
E
.
.
.
S
P
O
I
L
E
R
S
.
.
.
.
.
.
.

So, here it is. The End of Time. The last adventure of the Tenth Doctor.

And, for what it was, it was quite good. The first part was your average RTD first parter. Some good ideas not properly utilised (loved the idea of the Grey Cloak over London, just would have built it up a bit more. Maybe have the Doctor have heard of it but not know what it was till Wilf explained.) The Master ‘rebirth’ scene should and could have been slightly better. John Simm, however, was in the finest scenery chewing mode as the Master. Which was refreshing to see, though it did make me wonder why he was so hungry all the time.

Big yay for Wilf making the step up to full companion (I think I said the idea gave me a happy in my geek place in TTZ) and, as usual, Bernard Cribbins was outstanding. Sadly, this did mean the return of Donna bloody Noble. Well, that’s not fair, as I actually quite like the idea of the character as a character. What I meant to say was it marked the return of Catherine bloody Tate. (Seriously, I’ve tried to suffer through an episode of her ‘comedy’ series, put up with her quiet or shouty and nothing inbetween acting method in DW and watched her on Never Mind The Buzzcocks and I have to ask what the fuck she is actually famous for? She seems to be fucking useless at everything.)

It’s ironic to me, when the Narrator said something about everyone moving to their places because that’s what most RTD two parter episode one’s feel like to me. He’s just moving the characters round in some vaguely interesting way till they are where they need to be for the ending he has designated, which usually involves a cool visual. Which he managed twice this time with both the Master race and the scene with the Time Lords.

Then, in part two, we got too many ideas, not enough time to fill them out properly. The return of the Time Lords and Gallifrey should have been fleshed out more. The talk between the Doctor and Wilf was a wonderful moment that I loved but also feel, with the way the parts were split up we could have done without. Personally, I’d have ended part one with the Master finding the diamond and the Doctor powering the ship back up.

The scene where the Doctor is tempted to go against all of his beliefs and shoot someone, therefore being directly responsible for their death rather than peripherally was good, as was the way he found to get out of it. The twist given to the ‘he will knock four times and then the Doctor will die’ prophesy was inspired.

Then we get to my main problem with the whole thing. And the bit that will probably alienate people. The last 10-15 minutes.

Look, maybe it’s because I’ve been a fan since the 80’s and had to live through about 15 Wholess years with only a semi decent TV movie to get me through. Maybe it’s because I was unlikely to be too upset at the tenth Doctor dieing because I’ve been there. But the only tears that segment almost moved me to were ones of boredom.

It was just RTD showing off. I know that some will say that it was the Doctor saying goodbye to people but it was just. Not. At. All. Necessary. And the fact that all but two of the characters in question first appeared in RTD episodes of the show proves that.

(The inclusion of Midshipman Frame was particularly out of place and seemed to only be there cos RTD seems to have a thing for Russell Tovey.)

We could just have easily done without it. It wasn’t the Doctor, or RTD, saying goodbye to the characters. It was RTD saying look what I did people! For me, it took away from the regeneration completely.

(Oh, and the fact that the regeneration was exactly the same as the one from the ninth Doctor to the Tenth slightly annoyed me as well. This is actually a deeply, deeply personal thing but, not only is it the first time that I can remember that that has happened, the regeneration is the first thing to clue people in to the fact that the character name may well be the same but the characterisation will be different. As I said, that is very much just me.)

Then we got the eleventh Doctor. I loved this scene, the stuff the Doctor was saying (‘still not ginger) and the trashing of the TARDIS interior to explain the new look. Matt Smith and Steven Moffat combining to prove that the future looks very bright indeed.

Will

*EDIT*

To all those complaining about the eleventh Doctors not ginger comment:

GET. A. FUCKING. LIFE!

Will


[ writers anonymous logo ]

photobucket

Log in to write a note
January 3, 2010

haha you wont lose me as a reader for sure. I agree with catherine tate opinion, and some of your other thoughts, but David Tennant replaced Tom Baker as my favourite ever Doctor. His death was traumatic for me, because of that. I love him and I thought he bought a new level to the Doctor as a character, timelord, man etc. Eccleston was rubbish, albiet semi exciting, and yeah, 15 years away was too long so I’m not even sure my memories of Baker are accurate. I like when RTD shows off 🙂 I don’t find it indulgent like most hardcore fans would, personally he gave me what I needed in order to grieve. I also loved the new ugly doctor, who from now on shall be known as The New Ugly One. but in him I saw and heard way too many Tennant characteristics. The transition from Eccleston to DT was so severe – they are so physically different – but for some reason there wasn’t the same kind of contrast in this transition. The Tardis destruction was awesome. No more Donna freaking noble though, please. haha 🙂

January 3, 2010

haha you wont lose me as a reader for sure. I agree with catherine tate opinion, and some of your other thoughts, but David Tennant replaced Tom Baker as my favourite ever Doctor. His death was traumatic for me, because of that. I love him and I thought he bought a new level to the Doctor as a character, timelord, man etc. Eccleston was rubbish, albiet semi exciting, and yeah, 15 years away was too long so I’m not even sure my memories of Baker are accurate. I like when RTD shows off 🙂 I don’t find it indulgent like most hardcore fans would, personally he gave me what I needed in order to grieve. I also loved the new ugly doctor, who from now on shall be known as The New Ugly One. but in him I saw and heard way too many Tennant characteristics. The transition from Eccleston to DT was so severe – they are so physically different – but for some reason there wasn’t the same kind of contrast in this transition. The Tardis destruction was awesome. No more Donna freaking noble though, please. haha 🙂

January 3, 2010

haha you wont lose me as a reader for sure. I agree with catherine tate opinion, and some of your other thoughts, but David Tennant replaced Tom Baker as my favourite ever Doctor. His death was traumatic for me, because of that. I love him and I thought he bought a new level to the Doctor as a character, timelord, man etc. Eccleston was rubbish, albiet semi exciting, and yeah, 15 years away was too long so I’m not even sure my memories of Baker are accurate. I like when RTD shows off 🙂 I don’t find it indulgent like most hardcore fans would, personally he gave me what I needed in order to grieve. I also loved the new ugly doctor, who from now on shall be known as The New Ugly One. but in him I saw and heard way too many Tennant characteristics. The transition from Eccleston to DT was so severe – they are so physically different – but for some reason there wasn’t the same kind of contrast in this transition. The Tardis destruction was awesome. No more Donna freaking noble though, please. haha 🙂

January 3, 2010

I’m still putting my thoughts together on The End of Time. And still trying to keep myself firmly in denial about David’s departure!

January 3, 2010

I’m still putting my thoughts together on The End of Time. And still trying to keep myself firmly in denial about David’s departure!

January 3, 2010

I’m still putting my thoughts together on The End of Time. And still trying to keep myself firmly in denial about David’s departure!

January 4, 2010

I actually agree wholeheartedly with a good 95% of this entry…. hurrah!

January 4, 2010

I actually agree wholeheartedly with a good 95% of this entry…. hurrah!

January 4, 2010

I actually agree wholeheartedly with a good 95% of this entry…. hurrah!

January 4, 2010

Re: the edit, totally agree!! Twonks obviously weren’t paying attention.

January 4, 2010

Re: the edit, totally agree!! Twonks obviously weren’t paying attention.

January 4, 2010

Re: the edit, totally agree!! Twonks obviously weren’t paying attention.

January 4, 2010

Part 1 I thought started very slowly with lots of uninteresting disparate characters who weren’t really introduced very well or explained who they were meant to be or why we should care. The Master has lots of suddenly aquired powers which he’d never had before, unless I missed the episode where he was able to jump around like a grasshopper and shot bolts of energy from his hand. Though admittedlyeven in the days of yore sometimes he’d whip out an ability we never knew about, like turning in to a gloopy snake so he could force his way down Eric Robert’s throat. Thought second episode would have been baffling to the Not-We. Time Lords seemed a bit rubbish. I thought RTD was hitting the reset button and giving Time Lords and Daleks et al to Moffat so I was actually surprised he didn’t as such. Last 20 mins was fanwank indulgent.

January 4, 2010

Part 1 I thought started very slowly with lots of uninteresting disparate characters who weren’t really introduced very well or explained who they were meant to be or why we should care. The Master has lots of suddenly aquired powers which he’d never had before, unless I missed the episode where he was able to jump around like a grasshopper and shot bolts of energy from his hand. Though admittedlyeven in the days of yore sometimes he’d whip out an ability we never knew about, like turning in to a gloopy snake so he could force his way down Eric Robert’s throat. Thought second episode would have been baffling to the Not-We. Time Lords seemed a bit rubbish. I thought RTD was hitting the reset button and giving Time Lords and Daleks et al to Moffat so I was actually surprised he didn’t as such. Last 20 mins was fanwank indulgent.

January 4, 2010

Part 1 I thought started very slowly with lots of uninteresting disparate characters who weren’t really introduced very well or explained who they were meant to be or why we should care. The Master has lots of suddenly aquired powers which he’d never had before, unless I missed the episode where he was able to jump around like a grasshopper and shot bolts of energy from his hand. Though admittedlyeven in the days of yore sometimes he’d whip out an ability we never knew about, like turning in to a gloopy snake so he could force his way down Eric Robert’s throat. Thought second episode would have been baffling to the Not-We. Time Lords seemed a bit rubbish. I thought RTD was hitting the reset button and giving Time Lords and Daleks et al to Moffat so I was actually surprised he didn’t as such. Last 20 mins was fanwank indulgent.

January 4, 2010

I cried. I guess, maybe, I should be ashamed of that, but I’m not. I didn’t really know the Doctor until Eccleston. I cried when he regenerated as well. I cried for the last half hour of Tennant’s good-bye. Maybe it was self-indulgent, but I could see real sorrow in Tennant’s eyes. *shrug* Good riddance to no more Donna Freaking Noble though. ~

January 4, 2010

I cried. I guess, maybe, I should be ashamed of that, but I’m not. I didn’t really know the Doctor until Eccleston. I cried when he regenerated as well. I cried for the last half hour of Tennant’s good-bye. Maybe it was self-indulgent, but I could see real sorrow in Tennant’s eyes. *shrug* Good riddance to no more Donna Freaking Noble though. ~

January 4, 2010

I cried. I guess, maybe, I should be ashamed of that, but I’m not. I didn’t really know the Doctor until Eccleston. I cried when he regenerated as well. I cried for the last half hour of Tennant’s good-bye. Maybe it was self-indulgent, but I could see real sorrow in Tennant’s eyes. *shrug* Good riddance to no more Donna Freaking Noble though. ~

January 4, 2010

Sum of parts were better than the whole. I enjoyed it and I did cry, but I kept hoping it would top Utopia and it didn’t.

January 4, 2010

Sum of parts were better than the whole. I enjoyed it and I did cry, but I kept hoping it would top Utopia and it didn’t.

January 4, 2010

Sum of parts were better than the whole. I enjoyed it and I did cry, but I kept hoping it would top Utopia and it didn’t.

I actually fully agree with you about those 15 minutes. I’d have had the Doctor regenerate the moment that he was let out of the cabinet thingy by Wilf. That’d have been the correct way to do it. Regenerations should happen quickly – the Doctor shouldn’t have been able to go off on a tour of the universe while he was in the process. 🙂 Oh well. Otherwise I loved the episodes.

I actually fully agree with you about those 15 minutes. I’d have had the Doctor regenerate the moment that he was let out of the cabinet thingy by Wilf. That’d have been the correct way to do it. Regenerations should happen quickly – the Doctor shouldn’t have been able to go off on a tour of the universe while he was in the process. 🙂 Oh well. Otherwise I loved the episodes.

I actually fully agree with you about those 15 minutes. I’d have had the Doctor regenerate the moment that he was let out of the cabinet thingy by Wilf. That’d have been the correct way to do it. Regenerations should happen quickly – the Doctor shouldn’t have been able to go off on a tour of the universe while he was in the process. 🙂 Oh well. Otherwise I loved the episodes.

January 5, 2010

Yeah, I thought it was pretty good too. I agree with you though, the ‘not quite last’ 15 minutes were a bit drawn out, uneccessary and dull. A reasonably good bow out for David Tennant. I’ll be honest, I pretty much saw the knocking coming in the last episode when I saw that tank. The ending to a video game called Fallout 3 is almost exactly the same.

January 5, 2010

Yeah, I thought it was pretty good too. I agree with you though, the ‘not quite last’ 15 minutes were a bit drawn out, uneccessary and dull. A reasonably good bow out for David Tennant. I’ll be honest, I pretty much saw the knocking coming in the last episode when I saw that tank. The ending to a video game called Fallout 3 is almost exactly the same.

January 5, 2010

Yeah, I thought it was pretty good too. I agree with you though, the ‘not quite last’ 15 minutes were a bit drawn out, uneccessary and dull. A reasonably good bow out for David Tennant. I’ll be honest, I pretty much saw the knocking coming in the last episode when I saw that tank. The ending to a video game called Fallout 3 is almost exactly the same.

January 5, 2010

Yeah, I thought it was pretty good too. I agree with you though, the ‘not quite last’ 15 minutes were a bit drawn out, uneccessary and dull. A reasonably good bow out for David Tennant. I’ll be honest, I pretty much saw the knocking coming in the last episode when I saw that tank. The ending to a video game called Fallout 3 is almost exactly the same.

January 5, 2010

ryn: Definitely look the contest up.

January 5, 2010

ryn: Definitely look the contest up.

January 5, 2010

ryn: Definitely look the contest up.

January 5, 2010

ryn: Definitely look the contest up.

January 6, 2010

ryn: it was taken in Stirling

January 6, 2010

ryn: it was taken in Stirling

January 6, 2010

ryn: it was taken in Stirling

January 6, 2010

ryn: it was taken in Stirling

January 6, 2010

i loved the entirity. But then again, I am a sap who cried the first time, then exactly 1hr 20 mins later when i re-watched it cause mum had missed it…

January 6, 2010

i loved the entirity. But then again, I am a sap who cried the first time, then exactly 1hr 20 mins later when i re-watched it cause mum had missed it…

January 6, 2010

i loved the entirity. But then again, I am a sap who cried the first time, then exactly 1hr 20 mins later when i re-watched it cause mum had missed it…

January 6, 2010

i loved the entirity. But then again, I am a sap who cried the first time, then exactly 1hr 20 mins later when i re-watched it cause mum had missed it…

January 18, 2010

i was inconsoleable first time ever a regen’s done that to me. nut that was MY david

January 18, 2010

i was inconsoleable first time ever a regen’s done that to me. nut that was MY david

January 18, 2010

i was inconsoleable first time ever a regen’s done that to me. nut that was MY david

January 18, 2010

i was inconsoleable first time ever a regen’s done that to me. nut that was MY david