Waiting for me dad

WARNING: THIS IS GOING TO END IN A RANT.  YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED, DON’T COMPLAIN AFTERWARDS.

END OF WARNING.

There’s a painter from Boro called Mackenzie Thorpe.  And on of his paintings is called Waiting for Me Dad.  It’s based on him waiting for his dad to cross the Transporter Bridge after work.  Now, a sculpture based on that painting is now, temporarily, just beside the bridge.  (No, the rant isn’t about the fact it’s only temporary, even if I think it’s fucking ridiculous for it not to be permanent).  The main pic is the sculpture looking out to the bridge.  Here’s the other side:

And here’s the original painting:

As it happened, I was up by the Transporter yesterday to get the pics.

Now, here’s where I rave about how good Booksmart is (fucking awesome) or how good Late Night is (not quite good enough to topple Booksmart from my bast film I’ve seen this year list), or talk about getting to see The Italian Job on the big screen.

But I’m going to rant about ikkle brother.

Again.

I bought dad a bottle of Brewdog whisky and a Brewdog whisky glass as a fathers day present.  Dad is, notoriously, hard to buy for.  I actually asked mum if she thought he’d like it as a present (her reaction was, basically, duh obvviously).  And I phoned today to wish him happy fathers day and get a review of my present.  Because I knew he’d have some instantly.  (In case you#re wondering, he likes it.)

Then I spoke to my mum.  And she said that my brother would phone later, if he could be bothered.

I’ll repeat that.

My own mother was unsure if my own brother could be bothered to phone my own father on Fathers Day to wish him Happy Fathers Day.

Now, I haven’s been exactly perfect, but the five days a year I phone home (if I’m not there already) are Mothers Day, Fathers Day, mums birthday, dads birthday and Christmas Day.  It’s just basic fucking decency.

And here I have my mum wondering if my brother will actually bother.

Now, I love my brother.  He’s my brother, do I can’t help but not.

But.

But.

My mum should not be wondering if he’ll phone on Fathers Day.

Yet, it might get excused.

Cos it’s him.

GRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR!

Will

Log in to write a note
June 16, 2019

So did your brother call your dad?  If he didn’t you maybe need to tell him he is not a cool dude like you are.