Will they change the bill of fare?

(Seriously, what the hell does coverted even mean?)

This is my latest theme of the week entry.  Because this weeks theme is about food and I love talking about food.

My favourite dish my mum made for me growing up was her spaghetti bolognaise.  To this day, if she asks me if I want a special meal, it’ll be that I ask her to cook for me.  I do actually have the recipe.  When I was in halls of residence, first year of uni, I bought three tins of tomatoes instead of three tins of beans.  Not knowing what else to do with them, I asked mum for a copy of her recipe and she sent it down.  She later admitted it was hard for her to write, because she didn’t actually measure anything.  This is a trait I’ve picked up from her.  Despite having lost the recipe years ago, I’ve memorised it and it forms the base of the one I make to this day.

Another of my favourites growing up was broth.  My mum makes good broth, but it’s not a patch on my grans.  Her broth was proper broth.  So thick you had to force your spoon into it and so, so delicious.  Sadly, I don;t have the recipe for it.  I have a recipe, that I haven’t made in years (might do again soon though).

I haven’t told mum that I preferred grans broth to hers.  My dad was stupid enough to do that the first time my mum made tattie soup for him and she refused to make it ever again.

Will

Log in to write a note
March 13, 2018

Nuts undercover.