November 23, 2021. The day we met.

November 23rd, I will never forget that day. We met on Bumble, my first words were “So are you going to tell me about that Obama picture or what?” And it was history from there on. We were inseparable. We spent every single waking moment together, making memories, cherishing one another, and building a life together.

I remember our first date like it was yesterday.

It was a few days after Thanksgiving.

We met at Prospect Park’s Picnic House. You brought Odie, your beautiful golden lab.

To be honest, when I got my first glimpse of you, I wasn’t immediately attracted to you. But then we started talking and everything changed. It felt so right. We ended up talking for hours, you even walked me all the way to Trader Joe’s.

Once we got to the revolving doors, I said my goodbyes to you and we set a date to meet each other for ramen in a few days.

We talked all night and all day. So much so that you even asked to meet me the very next day. I couldn’t pass that up. I was completely entranced by you.

We met at a bar the next day, the “Crown Inn.” I remember getting there first and grabbing us a table outside, because there was only outdoor seating at the time. When you showed up, my eyes lit up. It was like this moment of clarity for me. I wanted you. We ended up talking for hours. Never taking our eyes off each other. Before we knew it, it was last call. We didn’t realize how long we’ve been sitting there. It was magical.

After we left, we walked a few blocks down and found a bench to sit on, it was there we had our first kiss. It was passionate and full of fire. I did not want the night to end. I didn’t want US to end. But all good things have to come to an end right?

As I write this entry, I have tears streaming down my face. I wish you knew how much I hurt right now. I wish you knew how much I miss you.

Log in to write a note
August 1, 2021

it sounded so beautiful! What happened if i may ask?

August 2, 2021

@caria It was a painful breakup. His mother passed away and he took it very hard.

August 2, 2021

@wininjaa Hang in there and maybe don’t give up. He might not know it now in his grief, but he loves and needs you. Gently let him know you won’t bother him, but you are here when he is ready to share his grief and let you help try to heal him.

Death of a parent is a hard thing. I am about to lose my own Mom. I know what it’s doing to me already. I don’t know about after, but my hubby is prepared for  anything.

August 3, 2021

@caria I am so sorry to hear about your mom. I’m so happy you have a great support system, it really does make a world of difference.

Your words really resonated with me. I’ve told him that I’ll always be there for him, together or not. He really was a great boyfriend, but it wasn’t the right time, and I don’t know what the future holds.

Thank you for your kind words. 😔