Details about trip to Indiana for the Unveiling

3:25pm
Life seems to make more sense when you’re looking at your baby…  That’s a quote from Gray’s Anatomy – a show I’m getting hooked on at work!!  Man, I haven’t journaled in a really long time.  I know I’ve missed out on tons of journaling, but there just never seems to be the time to journal and to sleep!!  I’ve got to choose one over the other!
We just returned from Indiana on the 6th.  We (Roy, Robert and I) went to be at the unveiling of the Little Grim’s tombstone.  Lisa, Shannon, and Evelyn came in, so we got to finally meet my neice!! 
Oh, the trip started out with stress (the usual…)  I arranged for an early flight out of SD (6:55am take off) and we decided to leave my car in long term parking.  The flight was OK, but Robert got scared right after take off.  He was excited before that.  Once the ground left us, tho, he got scared and cried and put his hand over his eyes!  It’s so funny how he does that – like an adult who doesn’t want you to see her cry!  But he recovered quickly and we had a nice flight.  I think Robert and I slept most of the way there.  Then we got our rental car and Roy drove us to SB.  We fought and stressed out initially, but then we finally started to calm after a bit.  My dad started to call me to find out where we were and when we were going to arrive, but I just explained that we were probably going to stop for a break on the way over so we could get a bite and stretch our legs.  We did end up stopping off at a Walmart Superstore, in SB, I think!!  They had a Subway inside so that’s where we decided to grab some food.  Before we went in to eat, tho, we hopped over the guardrail alongside the parking lot and took a "nature" walk by a little lake (?) and trees, bushes, plants, etc.  It was actually really nice and relaxing.  Just what we needed!!   Then we went and had our sandwhiches and then headed over to Mom and Dad’s house.
For some reason, Roy and I were not doing a great job of getting along at first, but as the days passed we started to relax and enjoy the trip more and more (at least I did – and I think the firework show helped Roy enjoy himself more too)
It was great to finally meet Evelyn.  She is SO CUTE!!  I see Lisa and Shannon in her, it’s very cool!   Unfortunately she is a mega HIGH maintanence baby!!  She does not enjoy being put down (for the most part) and requires an awful lot of swaddling still.  I kept thinking that she has reflux and needs medicine and then our cousin Dan’s wife, Rachel, confirmed my suspicions! We had gone to the Comfort Suite Inn on 31, where most of the guests were staying, and went swimming.  It has an indoor pool which was rather stuffy.  But Robert and his cousing Ari hit it off immediately (it didn’t hurt that Robert brought pool toys!!).  They played in the pool while Dan watched Ari and Rachel fed Lisa’s baby.  Right when she was done feeding Evy she said, "This baby has reflux!!"  "THANK YOU!!" I said! "PLEASE tell my sister that!!"  She even said she’d give Lisa a dose of prevacid for the baby as she had her baby’s medicine with her in the room.  Ultimately, she did not give Lisa a dose, but Lisa was more than willing to listen to what they had to say, and so was Shannon.  They ended up buying mylanta for Evy.  (?!)  I have never given mylanta to a baby, so I did not know what to say about it.  I don’t think it helped at all…  Someone always needed to be holding her.  It was so cute to see Dad on Lisa’s "anti-torture ball" (which is a workout ball that they sit and bounce the baby on).  They call it the anti torture ball because after a diaper change (super torture) they calm her by bouncing her on the ball.  I managed to change Evy without lying her flat on her back and she never cried that diaper change.  Lisa hadn’t been so lucky.  That baby can seriously SCREAM and CRY!!  Well, since then I know Lisa’s gotten a script for an anti-reflux med.  I wonder how it’s working (it was after we had already left.)
So on Friday night we were enjoying a late-night cup of coffee when we learned that the baby naming ceremony had been changed from Monday to Saturday morning!!  I really wished I would have known before drinking coffee late!!  So I had to resign myself to go in a somewhat wrinkled dress.  Shannon is the one who ultimately paid the price for the schedule change.  Because the baby was to have the naming ceremony on the Sabbath, Shannon wasn’t allowed up on the Bima to be a part of the ceremony(!!)  That REALLY sux as it is his baby!!  and apparently it was my father’s idea to have the baby naming – without even checking with Lisa or Shannon first!  And it was Aunt Phyllis’ idea to change the schedule for Saturday so she could be there (which meant my brother would miss it!)  I guess Allen didn’t mind, but sheesh.  That’s a lot of BS…  (we wouldn’t do it any other way!!)  Hopefully no one’s feeling were hurt too bad, and we all had a nice time.  My Dad wanted us all to stay for services, but eventually each of us walked out (me because Robert was freaking out).  I found John outside standing alone, so I went and got Roy and the two of them chatted up a storm for a long time.  I love to see them getting along like that.  Other people don’t seem to respond to John the way Roy does.

Just a quick note on Robert’s development.  He is a crazy red-head, let me tell ya!!  He loves to climb and swing like a monkey (he’s been doing that for a while now!)  a favorite phrase of his is, "Loo Do It!"  Which I believe is "You do it" meaning "I want to do it!"  I sometimes get his little voice stuck in my head, Loo do it, Loo do it, Loo do it!!  I am teaching him how to properly use the word "I."
My father made a couple of cracks about saying NO to Robert – implying that I don’t say it often enough.  (gotta love it)  So yesterday I started to instill the "counting to 3" theory that worked on us as kids. 

Log in to write a note
July 27, 2010

RYN: LMAO! Some people are just crazy