Learning To Read

When I was young, one of the hardest things for me was learning how to read. I remember sitting at the kitchen table in my parents house, homework spread out, nose jammed in the pages. And I’d just sit there and cry. Unable to make sense of the letters before me. I couldn’t turn the letters into words. I’d fully convinced myself that reading and writing is something I’d never be able to achieve. I’m just stupid.

My dad, being somewhat illiterate himself, never gave up on me.

My family, as stated in past entries, is very musical. Everyone sings and/or play instruments. Karaoke was a big thing growing up. So, that’s what dad did. My little brother and I were decent kids, so dad didn’t mind taking us out twice a week to the local karaoke bar. My dad was friends with the owner and he’d played shows there as well with his band. So, the owner didn’t mind 2 little kids running around. We were dad’s kids, it was a bit of a bonus.

So, my dad and I chose songs I knew well enough and went up to sing. All the while, “reading” the lyrics on screen. I’d eventually “read” the lyrics so many times, it started to sink in and I began to understand how words are built. Word recognition and actually being able to read words that I was unsure of.

Since then, I’d always had a book in my hand. I attended reading clubs in high school, always ready before sleep and would usually pass out in my books. Shel Silverstein was incredible when I was in elementary.  I loved how weird his works were. Then came Roald Dahl. Super fun. The Twits were my absolute favourite. Later on, Goosebumps were my favourite and, when I’d read them all and there was no more real challenge, I began reading Christopher Pike novels. Always horror and weird stuff for me.

So, that’s it. That’s how I learned to read.

My daughter, 3 and a half years old, is now learning to read. She’s getting it. Fast. She’s not struggling like I did. She has moments where she gives up and starts whining, but she’s still doing better than I was. Her father was reading 6th grade level books in 1st grade. So, it was never a struggle for him.

My daughter loves to sing too. She’s always singing. She sings more than she talks. So, karaoke!!!! And she’s doing well!

Last night, before bed, she wanted to read a simple book. One with a couple words on each page. And she read them all! She did so well and I’m so proud of her. Her pronunciation is really bad but the reading part seems to be helping her break the word down and actually say it right. Ex. “goba” becomes “granola bar”.

She’s getting better at writing her name as well. She still has a bit of trouble visualising what the letters look like but she also uses her magnetic letters on the fridge to spell her name. So, she’ll get it eventually.

I’m just really proud that she’s doing so well!!!

Ok, now I have to shower and take care of errands.

Later all,

Wolfy

Log in to write a note