Too Goth For A Funeral

As explained in my last entry, my grandmother passed away.

Now, I’m someone who likes to dress with skulls, skeletons, blood, death and horror movie references. My general style seems to be somewhere between goth,punk and grunge. Lots of crop tops, cut outs, DIYs, fishnets, haor colour changes almost monthly, etc. In short, I dress like Halloween puked on me.

So, dressed daily for death but not for a funeral.

I literally went to a bunch of stores, got a ton of new plain black clothes. Most of which where thrift store finds. (Even found a PJ Masks HQ Tower for my kiddo!! Cost me almost nothing. $1, I think. If that.)

For me, it’s nothing but respect. For my grandmother and my family.

I run around dressed the way I do. My family knows me. They know my general attire. Hell, I wore plastic fangs daily for about 15 years straight! (I’d stopped when I got pregnant. Gum swelling didn’t work well with Thermo plastic molded fangs) My family knows. I’m a weird (34 year old) kid with weird tastes and I’m just too old to give a shit anymore what people think. So, I do whatever it is that I want. I dress in a way that makes ME feel comfortable. Judge me all you want (I currently like in a small town with lots of older people and I’m not from here so the judgemental looks come daily.) I just don’t care anymore.

When it’s something like this. Something like losing a loved one, I can’t just show up to a funeral or Celebration for Life decked out in a ribcage print and a catacomb skirt!

I attended the funeral in a black dress, corset and shawl. My baby chicken shit on my only black leggings so I was forced to wear fishnets but they have a design that’s somewhere between flowers and spiderwebs, so it worked. The corset was tasteful. I don’t usually wear my corsets like a slut to begin with. I’ll often wear it over a top or with a shawl or something. So, that worked out fine.

Like I said, it’s all about respect for me. I would feel absolutely horrible showing up in my general attire.

 

Oh, I figured out how to add pics on here now!

First pic, idea of general attire.

Second and third pics, how my Moon Baby and I dressed for the funeral (she usually only wears dresses and tutus so her black tutu was perfect.

Ok, I’m off to take a midnight pipe hit then go back to sleep. I passed out waiting for Moon Baby to sleep.

Night night, all,

Wolfy

Log in to write a note