RIP Grandmaman

Last week, my grandmother passed away. It’s been a difficult week for everyone.

We buried her on Friday and had a massive Celebration of Life for her on Saturday. And when I say “massive” I mean I’ve forgotten how huge my family is. Yes, a lot of people have passed on over the years. Age,sickness, freak accidents, etc. But there’s so many kids now. All the cousins are all grown up.

I’ve been living in the States for 10 years and it’s been just me,and my husband. Then we had our Moon Baby, who is 3 and a half now. And his family was just his mom and grandmother. So, being back in Canada, (without my husband in the picture, now) seeing all my cousins again, it’s crazy. (My grandmother had 6 kids, 3 boys/3girl..many of with reproduced and reproduced some more) I swear, there must have been about 100 people in attendance on Saturday, at least. I seen faces I haven’t seen in 20+ years. So,, apparently, the new thing is when the cousins get together, we all just smoke up. I thought that was pretty funny. But, fuck, it was good to see everyone again.

Moon Baby and my cousin Joey kicked it off flawlessly. He’s 28 now…I think he wasn’t supposed to live past 2 or something. So, that’s pretty awesome. “Miracle child”, I guess you can say. Joey likes to beatbox and he’s pretty damn good at it too. My Moon Baby loves to sing. So he started showing her some beatboxing and she went right for it!! They’ve been practicing all week while he was in town with his mom. (Dad’s sister).

I’m gonna say this here cause it’s important. My whole family is musical. Everyone sings and/or plays an instrument. My dad and uncle have a band and they just do local shows. And so, naturally,  at my Grandmaman’s Celebration of Life, they were going to jam. My uncle’s daughters sang too and one of them has a 19 year old. He sang as well. ( the 3 sisters also sang a bunch) So, when Joey went up to beatbox in front of everyone for the first time. Dedicating it to Grandmaman, he invited my Moon Baby to help him out. They beatboxed together in front of everyone. I didn’t sing though, I haven’t sang in about 15 years. It was beautiful to watch them though. It was so good to see them again, seeing how my Moon Baby interacted with everyone. I know I keep saying that but…aw man. It was really something special.

 

Side note: I got one of my molars removed on Wednesday. It’s sore. Very sore. But healing well.

I’m gonna go now, my dad, brother and I are all at the camp with my kiddo and everyone else now. Got a nice fire going but it’s only 4:30 so I’m watching it from afar and hiding from the sun in the shade.

Byeeeeeeeeee

Wolfy

Log in to write a note