All Fridays are good, only one is Good

 

No idea why this picture, random as it is, is so small.  Early pics I put here were bigger, I think.  Oh well. It’s a rotten picture anyway, facing east in my odd room, extension of my kitchen/bathroom vestibule/exit in summer to the deck.

You can see a flaw in my house – the inside door to the deck no longer closes.  I think because we took off the porch with its roof that sheltered the door when we put on the deck.  So rain made the door swell?  There is an outside storm door that gets caulked in winter and that helps but it’s still not the bests house situation.   The big cardboard box in the corner came with a Case brand power washer and was saved for sentimental reasons.  Now I keep my can recycling center in it – see plastic bags of cans to the right.  Those particular cans were taken to the recycling center already.  I have not collected my redemption money – I had four sacks full and that usually amounts to about $12 – nickel cans in Iowa.

Old fans may remember the piano – relic that it is.  The east windows give light to the deck plants that come in for the winter.  They did better this year because I’ve been home to water them more often and more carefully.  In a month they will be able to go outside.  When the door gets uncaulked.  What’s visible in the pic is my ancient German ivy, but there are geraniums and begonias and a tub to the right of the bookcase of mixed up plants – a strawberry begonia, some oxalis – oxy alice my mom called them, and a tall stringy geranium.  And maybe something else, I’m too lazy to get up and look.

I started some seeds this year and they are in front of the east window now.  I have a dozen or so Early Girl tomatoes that are probably ready for their first transplanting.  I have some wall flowers and scabiosa that our old friend LBH sent me from Burchart Gardens that are coming up pretty well.  The main thing I wanted to start was cone flowers.  I have bought fancy non-purple cone flowers several times – they are pricey and do not last through the winter.  I suppose I don’t care for the well enough – though the unfancy cone flowers – the standard purples come back easily and get bigger every year,  Rather than buying expensive new plants that won’t grow, I thought I’d try a package of seeds – not real cheap either but cheaper.  Anyway I have half a dozen of them growing too and will to nurse them to some kind of adulthood.

Kids are on a spring break trip to the near west.  They were down last weekend to deliver Hans the dog to farm dog care.  He’s had a pretty good week.  No Badlands, Mt. Rushmore, Devil’s Tower or Rocky Mountain Park (I know because of FB), but he’s gone out to look at the calves a couple dozen times, he’s cleaned out the frying pan after Gracie got done with it several times, had cat confrontations that resulted in harm to neither party.

Just heard that kids are going home without picking him up so there will be a Hans transfer mid Twin Cities and here sometime next week.

 

Ah so…… wishes to you all for a good holiday, for a good spring, for sunshine and puppy dogs of your own.

 

 

Log in to write a note
March 30, 2018

That’s a sweet, dreamy picture. My gardening is also without much enthusiasm this year. Hans sounds like he’s having a great vacation!

March 30, 2018

Thanks so much for this intimate look into your life. Next time I’ll stay for coffee.

March 30, 2018

@ipsofacto Do that!  I like 50/50 coffee and milk – tepid in winter, iced in summer, so that’s an option too.

March 30, 2018

The plants in your photo are beautiful!  I’m going to Butchart Gardens in July and I’m very excited about it.  Are we talking about the same Butchart Gardens?  Mine is in Victoria, British Columbia.

March 30, 2018

@wildrose_2 Yes, the same one.  I was there in late summer and it was lovely.  Would be good to visit in the spring too.

March 30, 2018

Light But Hearty?  Has she resurfaced here?  I hope she will.

March 31, 2018

I got an email notifying me that you had replied to me, but it didn’t show the whole email, and then when I came here to see it, I cannot see it at all, about Light But Hearty.  From what I could tell, she is staying with Prosebox for now?  If you speak with her, please pass along my well wishes and that I have missed her “voice” over the years.

March 31, 2018

@bambamgotchatwice I will tell her.  I made if a private note, pity you can’t see it.  It shows up for me.  Computers are just so screwy.

March 31, 2018

I could pull up a cozy chair and read a book or two in that corner,

 

enjoy your weekend!

March 31, 2018

@thesunnyabyss I’ve got plenty of books.  I’m sure you’d find something you liked.  Plus the men with the 5.5 day beards.

March 31, 2018

@womaninthemoon well now I’m in for sure lol

April 2, 2018

Please come stay. We will drink coffee with liquor, talk books and plant things.

April 2, 2018

@e3 We should get together some time.

The other note you left was on an entry I mean to be private or a draft.  I made it private.  I have plans to write about maybe.  If anyone were to read it though, it was good it was you.

April 2, 2018

@womaninthemoon I am glad it was good it was me. I understand her final sentiment quite well.