After sleeping on it

So after a night’s sleep, I wake up with a new bio dad.  Which is nice.  When viewing his college yearbook picture, I see his curly hair and now I know where my curly hair came from.  Mystery solved.

The true mystery is my mother.  Even if she wasn’t sure who the father was when she got pregnant, once I popped out with all the curly hair on my head, she must have known.  And I share other facial characteristics with bio dad, too.  She must have known.  But she chose to never say anything.  In fact, I never even knew she had married this guy.  My brother must have been about 5 or 6.  And he only remembers living in a big house in a certain town.  But then moving to the beach.  My mother never told my brother who his real father was until she was on her death bed.  She kept secrets.  Personally, I say she kept grudges.  If someone crossed her in any way, that person was dead to her.  So my lesson in life was always to never hold a grudge.  Maybe stay angry for a little while, but I honestly don’t think I have that ferocious desire to dislike someone forever.  My mom was married a total of six times (that I can find).  I always thought she had been married three times.  When I was growing up and if I asked her anything about her younger life, she would just it’s none of my business.  I stopped asking.  I guess I feel sorry for my mom.

Log in to write a note