Appliances

I was cleaning the top of my electric stove yesterday.  It has a glass top and as I was wiping it down, it felt like there was something stuck to the surface.  I scrubbed a bit harder, but it wasn’t coming off.  So I looked at the top closer and realized there was a chip and a crack in the glass.  I thought when did that happen?  I told my husband about the glass top and he said he dropped the pepper mill onto the stove and that must have caused the crack.  Anyway, I have to buy a new stove.  If I really liked this stove, I’d replace the glass top.  But I hate this stove.  It’s not that old and I’ve had to replace one element already.  Another element isn’t working – it only stays on high.  And the light display doesn’t work properly.  I can’t tell what the oven temperature is when I set it and I can’t tell how much time is left on the timer.  Hate the stove.  Hate having to buy a new one.  I was saving my money to buy a new cell phone and iPad.  Both are about six years old and it’s time to replace them.  Now I have to pay for a new stove instead.  Which irks me.  I hate buying appliances.  So expensive and they don’t last very long.

Log in to write a note
September 26, 2021

I am sorry you have to make the stove purchase.  It sounds like the crack was in a weird kind of way a good thing so you can get a stove you can actually count on to work.  Good luck finding one hopefully on sale.