Hold my mail

I’m going away for a couple of days.  I need it.  Just to the beach.  I want to walk on the beach.  Maybe fly a kite.  Relax without having to drive back the same day.  This is the trip I was going to take last year but had to be rescheduled due to Covid.  I’ve also got to use up my airline credit, too.  I was going to go to Nashville last year, but, again, Covid.  I’ll probably use that credit to go to Oklahoma instead.  Not my first choice, but my husband needs to go to get a DNA test with his potential brother to see if he is part of the Choctaw tribe there.  Anyway, in 2019, I had been looking at different places to travel to within my state – just short 2-4 day trips.  Places I either haven’t been to before or it’s been a very long time since I’ve been there.  Anyway, when Covid hit, those travel plans were cancelled.  But lately I’ve decided it’s time to start take those short trips.  So I’m looking online and I’m kind of shocked at how much it costs to stay anywhere, especially popular locations.  It seems like prices have increased immensely.  I get how some people who rent homes/condos lost money last year and are trying to recoup those losses, but wow – all of the prices I was looking at seemed crazy.  Hotels, too.  I’m not sure I’ll be able to afford to travel as much as I wanted.  I don’t have a travel trailer and I don’t want to camp anymore.  I might check to see the cost of renting a small travel trailer.  I can’t do another year of staycation.  Must – Get – Out.

Log in to write a note
June 4, 2021

The prices are nuts.  My kids are staying near Santa Barbara California for $300 per night.  Nuts but that is cheapest could find near to where they have to be.  I think they are spending 2 nights.

June 4, 2021

Yeah, I’m going to be allowed out *finally* next week, today. 😀