I’m not psychic, just broken.

I always thought my ability to read people was caused by early childhood traumas.  On today’s scale, not so traumatic.  But let’s not place everything on a graph.  Any event a child experiences that causes pain, sadness, fear, humiliation, etc. can be life altering in some form or another.  Anyway, I do notice people and some people exude a creepy vibe.  Some people have layers of good and not so good.  And some people have created a wall so it’s hard to tell.  Anyway, I think I developed this skill for protection.   Nothing special.  I assume most people have also developed this skill for survival.   I don’t know what made me think of this topic.  I’m sure I was playing pinball in my head and while I was bouncing from one thought to another, this thought made the lights flash.

And today, I made another call to my pension benefits little house of horrors.  I still haven’t been reimbursed for last month’s premium.  So once again, I politely told the automated digi-voice I didn’t know the stupid PIN number and waited until I could talk to a real live human.  After explaining the problem (again), she said she was going to have the manager look at my case.  Now, mind you, I didn’t raise my voice, use foul language, or demand to speak to the manager, so I did not, I repeat, did not cause a Karen moment.  I knew what the problem was.  But apparently, I needed Brad to tell me what I already knew and he politely told me 3 times.  It was like listening to the man put himself on repeat, rewind, and repeat again.  He said he’d take care of the issue.  I said okay. Later this evening, I checked my account. No activity. No deposit posted. Nothing.  I’ll check every day for the next 5 business days.  If nothing has occurred, I’ll be calling again.  I’ve got Brad’s name.  Apparently, he’s the only Brad in the department.

Log in to write a note
May 3, 2022

I am sorry you are receiving such poor customer service.  With my 45 years of experience I recommend if you do need to call back escalate the call.  It sounds like he does not have the authority, willingness, commitment or something to follow up on a customer promise.  The squeeky wheel does get the grease.  I worked for Pacific Telephone and American Express Co.  As a first line supervisor it was expected I would resolve any problem like yours.  Good luck.  Hoping you look at your account tomorrow and it is updated.  We had real time postings so I would think it would already show something.  That is my unsolicitated view of another month done incorrectly.  I agree with the ability to spot the phonies.  I hope you have someone you can turn to who will be moral support when stuff like that happens.  If not, you are being calm and persistent which shows a lot of restraint.  I admire that.  Take care.  😎

May 3, 2022

@tracker Thanks. I don’t know if my issue revolves only around poor customer service.  I’m thinking it’s a training issue as well as the job requirements. You know, you must complete 25 claims in an hour to maintain an average rating in order to receive minimum wage.  But I checked my account this morning and my April payment is pending.  Should be posted to my checking account soon. Persistence is key when dealing with these types of issues.

May 3, 2022

i think you are what they call Empath. You can google on “Empath”.