Dutch Apple Pie (nothing like American Pie)

Here is the recipe for a deluxe Dutch Apple pie, with rum soaked raisins, almond paste etc, fresh/sour apples, and no sugar overdose like the American apple pie.

For a 10 inch pie pan

For the dough:

  • 14oz flour
  • 8 oz butter
  • 7 oz brown sugar
  • 2 egg yolks
  • Lemon skin rasp
  • Salt 

Filling:

  • 8 Granny Smith apples
  • 2.5 oz sugar
  • Cinnamon
  • 3.5 oz Raisins (Can be soaked for 2 hours in rum)
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 eggs
  • Sugar
  • 3 cups Almond paste (some rum can be added)

Garnish:

  •  apricot jelly

Kneed the flour, butter, brown sugar, egg yolks, lemon skin and salt to a ball. Butter the pan and push the dough flat with a 2 inch side. Keep some dough to make a pattern of lines on the top of the pie. 

Peel the apples and cut them in thin slices. Put them in the pie on top of the dough, up to the level of the borders. Sprinkle the raisins, sugar and cinnamon over the apples. Beat the eggs, add milk and add almond paste and possibly some rum. Pour/spread this over the pie so that the empty areas are filled. Then make a nice pattern with the remaining dough lines.

Baking time is about 50 minutes at 375 degrees F

After the pie has cooled, put apricot jelly layer on top.

Almond paste is not easily available in US stores, it can be made by cutting up almonds in a food processor, adding egg and sugar and kneeding to make a ball of ‘paste’ 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Log in to write a note
December 1, 2013

They have Granny Smith apples in Holland?

December 4, 2013

you had me at rum soaked raisins! 🙂 ~~~>

December 5, 2013

RYN: Well being a sponge is a good thing, much different than just going with the flow of things for the hell of it, yeah? I always need visuals hehe 😀 ~~~>

December 7, 2013

hey hope you’re doin’ good and the holidays have been kind to you so far 🙂

December 10, 2013

R: My netbook did come with a Windows program but it got a virus a while ago and I had to get it wiped. The guy that did it put some type of bootleg version on here so now, every time I turn it on, I get a warning saying my Windows may be counterfeit. I heard that Windows 8 sucks so I’m gonna look for 7 on Amazon.

December 10, 2013

ryn – nice one!!!!!

this looks good. K and I are planning to try it. 🙂 How much lemon skin? I’m guessing you mean the same thing as lemon zest?

December 12, 2013

R: I’m not trying to be judging and unforgiving. I just feel defeated in general and it’s easier for me to say “oh, fuck it, he doesn’t care about me” and then move on than to wait and hold on to hope. Yes, I’m neurotic. No, there is no deadline but he is head of IT so I KNOW he got the email and if he was interested, he would have replied- yes, this is in MY crazy head. <br> I don’t like the ball to be in someone else’s court. I’m impatient. I regretted it AS SOON as I sent it. I’m new at this… cut ME some slack 🙁 This sucks for me. I just don’t know how to deal.

December 21, 2013

ryn: Yeah, I think you’re right. But I stand by the decidability of the “spam diaries” theory. There’s no reason for going months with that theory/excuse without testing it.

December 27, 2013

ryn: I got a timeout on my bookmarks a few days ago, but it was the only one in the last week.

December 31, 2013

who says you cant change the family? you can, but only if you change yourself first. Gandhi said “We must be the change that we want to see in the world.” Change starts from self, then family, then world.

January 3, 2014

RYN: If I’m asked in the interview what ADP stands for, I don’t think I’ll use that definition! Funny, though, and true. When I was HR at the medical billing company, we used them and they totally screwed up costing themselves thousands. Still, they are right around the corner from me and stable…

January 3, 2014

ryn: I’m sure you’re right. What do you suppose happens if an ASP script times out after it has locked a table but before it releases the lock? Is MSSQL smart enough to undo the lock when it kills the script? My other thought is perhaps he put in too severe timeout restrictions to try to solve other problems and now with the faster hardware they ARE the problem. Is there a way to cleanup zombie locks? What I really wonder is whether somebody is going in and kickstarting it periodically or if the deadlocks go away on their own. Sometimes the constant timeouts appear to be go on for 8 hours at a time. Other times they happen in short spurts.

January 4, 2014

Hi, how are you? Lovely apple pie recipe here — I would like to try this, though I am not a fan of making the pie crust. Thanks for your note. I am in a manic race after the ever so elusive “love,” aren’t I? I feel lonely, you know. Self-realization is a noble goal. I am trying. I know I am “enough” yet I want companionship. Tough w/out family and with kiddo having left home.

January 8, 2014

Sounds delish….. And thanks for your notes, and the big one is coming, don’t forget, it’s my way or the highway, and I think it’s gonna be the highway. I’m crazy!!

January 12, 2014

RYN not a lot really, because I just like the melding of the colours, but occasionally a scene from the night sky will appear!

January 13, 2014

Thanks… 😉

January 13, 2014

ryn: It’s a hundred yards. I guess they’re still on the British system, even though the British aren’t any more.

January 20, 2014

Sounds delicious!

January 23, 2014

RYN: Ah, life certainly means a whole boat of things ~~~>