Survivor

Yeah, I know, WTF where have you been, yadda yadda yadda. Post one entry that says nothing and then disappear into the ether. Yeah, I got it. I am here though, and as busy as I am have not had time to think about starting anything here.

But you gotta start somewhere, and what better way to start than on a topic that, for all I know, nobody here even cares about anymore and in any case is like a month or more out of date. That’s me: retro and pointless! But it is somewhere to kick off writing something here and anything that will get me to write something has to be a good thing, right?

So the topic is the show Survivor. Been on forever, perhaps you have seen it? I have seen all the season, consumed here in seasons at a time after they air in between swimming classes and other stuff. I just watched the latest finished season, the one that ended in December for all you Statesiders. And it actually inspired me to write something because this season actually moved me or something. The rest of what follows will make no sense unless you are a fan of the show.

It was the return of Ozzy who I love. Just an all around cool guy and a killer at challenges. And the return of Coach who I find pretentious and lame with his "Dragonslayer" bullshit. He thinks he was better this season but I found him more irritating with his Family crap and that whole tribe going full monty on the Jesus thing. All his talk about honor and integrity when he knows damn well that crap means nothing in this game because you can’t possibly make it to the end without throwing those things out the window. So give up all the bullshit about it.

Ozzy not getting immunity for the final time and going out broke my heart. I wanted it so bad for that guy, who dominated every challenge he was in until it counted the most. And he said the exact right thing at the final council: No one wants to vote for any of the three up for the money. It was without a doubt the first final where I didn’t want any of them to win. But in the end the only one who even a tiny bit deserved it won, so as happens most often, the right person of the final choices won.

How does this show not get stale? The worst seasons were much earlier. The last few have been fantastic, with this one being one of the most intriguing.

So there you go, a whole entry on nothing at all. How have you all been?



site meter

Log in to write a note

I like Ozzy, but found him to be kind of a cocky asshole about the whole thing. “I’ll feed them a nice fish and send them on their way”. That bugged me. I mean, it was true, for the most part, but it still bugged me!

I LOOOOVE Survivor. I’ve seen every single season (and most of them more than once). During the off-season I watch old episodes because, well, I’m a dork. Coach is mental. Ozzy annoyed me at the beginning of this one because of the temper tantrums, but he won me over when he survived redemption island for so long. Nice to see an entry from you again.

January 18, 2012

I have not watched Survivor since the season where Richard won and Sue made a speech about the snake eating the rat. I was so disgusted I swore off that show forever!

January 19, 2012

I agree. Ozzie has some amazing moves.

January 23, 2012

Show doesn’t do it for me but did you see the Charlize Theron top chef episode????

January 27, 2012

RYN: Yes sir. New show starting in May, “Around the World in 80 Plates” — Top Chef with Jet Lag. Should be interesting. Cat Cora and Curtis Stone, two of my fave celeb chefs.

February 7, 2012

I can’t watch Survivor. Or most competitive game shows where people work against each other. I get too frustrated watching them.

February 11, 2012

glad you liked it – they know how to put on a show for sure

February 11, 2012

RYN: Thursday was Final Four. If you want my itunes password let me know, i still have three “licenses” left and you can download them for free. They’re doing an extra twist this season if you haven’t already heard, requires an additional 12 7 minute downloads. SO GOOD SO GOOD SO GOOD SO GOOD SO GOOD OMG

February 11, 2012

by thursday i mean wednesday because i watch them on thursdays

February 24, 2012

RYN: Thanks for your note! Norway has fantastic leave! I wish the US would get with the program (on so many things), stop preaching “family values” and start acting on them! Btw, it’s official! I’m pregnant! For real! I want to tell the world. 🙂

September 7, 2012

well hell I still have you in favorites but you just posted and I was blocked?

September 9, 2012

ryn: Whole Foods has been open for a couple of months. It’s in the same strip mall that World Market is, if you know where I’m talking about. <3 m

September 10, 2012

thanks but I do miss your entries.

September 11, 2012

ryn: That’s exactly what I used. And it is shit. <3 m