Changes

I’m trying not to get my hopes up as I hit the ‘submit’ button on my application to a local clinic. The problem with changing jobs now is that I’ll be getting my masters degree in just under two years and will need to start my clinical rotations next March. The problem with clinic jobs is that they can often hire an LPN for cheaper than they can an RN, which is why I missed out on the last position that I applied for. I’m always hopeful when I apply somewhere new, if not cautiously optimistic. I try not to get my hopes up, but the idea of a new experience is so exciting.

I would miss the family I’ve made here on the sixth floor of our hospital. The teamwork and camaraderie as we endure long hours and difficult patients together, as well as the countless inside jokes and sense of family that came with it. Not to mention familiarity with the work flow; I understand that working in a clinic will be much different than a busy hospital in the metro area.

Hopefully they give me a chance and see that I’m willing to learn and grow in my profession. It would be even better if after a few years of getting accustomed and comfortable within a clinic, I could accept a job at the same clinic as a nurse practitioner when the time comes.

For now, I feel like that’s all just wishful thinking.
In the meantime, here’s to being cautiously optimistic.

Log in to write a note