Twenty-five Years……

(Another past entry—August 2017)

Feeling moments of mush….(so consider this a content warning)!
So. Don and I recently celebrated twenty five years together. Twenty five non-stop wonderful, hilarious, adventurous, supportive, boy-raising (hair-raising), collaborative, love-filled years. All our ups and downs, the “whoah!” and “WHAT?”, the never ending conversation, spark and laughter.
Don claims that he’s “the only man strong enough to love (Adagio)”—which is probably true.
I am overwhelmed by the the gift of this brilliant and curious man in my life.
This compassionate man who helped raise my sons and his son since they were four years old, and who loves the three of them with a depth that brings him joy-tears.
This hilarious man who makes me laugh hard about something every single day. He said the other day that he has “shameless verbosity”. And today he showed me a collection of photos he’s taken with his phone of street tar repair in the style of Franz Kline.
This dear man who views children’s art as the best art there is, who never drives by a lemonade stand without stopping, who is my biggest fan, loves what I do and brags about me constantly.
This wise man who still sees (the older and wider) me as beautiful to him, and brews heavenly home-made chai every week “so my bride won’t leave me”.
This travel-loving man who brought me to the greatest art galleries, flamenco dancers, cathedrals, gardens and lovely hidden cobblestone streets of the world. This quirky unconventional man who suddenly decided to grow dahlias, roses and bonsai. He can’t miss “Project Runway” and has us in stitches with his comments and opinions. He thinks SYTYCD is the very best TV ever. Depending on his wildly varied music mood, he listens to Tom Waites, Bach, Charles Ives and George Jones. And opera. And now he wants to learn how to weld.
This academic/art history/wordsmith who voraciously keeps reading and learning. He reads essays, philosophers, biographies, poetry and classics and then paraphrases (quite entertainingly) those thoughts to me in the morning when his brain is rushing like whitewater.
And on and on and even further on with the mushy happy stuff………
I love the kismet of finding each other in this lifetime….that he asked me to marry him on our first date, and still asks me every day.
I love the thought of living, loving and laughing into another 25 years with this man.
This lifetime.
This man.

:)xoAdagio

Log in to write a note
November 16, 2017

Wonderful. Congratulations to the both of you. He sounds like a terrific dad and husband.

November 16, 2017

What a lovely tribute! Sounds like a good match. Hope you both enjoy many many more years together.

November 16, 2017

Awww! I love the recreation of that picture. So cute!

November 16, 2017

What a beautiful entry this is, congratulations to both of you!

November 18, 2017

I love this so much. And I’ve missed your joy filled, hope filled, art filled posts (and I’m missing some hyphens there, but I’m tired, so I don’t care).

November 19, 2017

I have tears in my eyes reading this. How wonderful that you both found a kindred spirit to share your lives with. I wish you 25 more years of love and happiness.

November 19, 2017

Happy Anniversary!! Belatedly, but the glee is undiminished by my lack of timeliness.

What a wonderful relationship and life you have built together.

November 28, 2017

This is beautiful!

December 3, 2017

This is something you *should* (hate that word) have printed up in some fancy script, put on some kind of lovely paper, and framed; then give to him as a gift!!

December 6, 2017

Congratulations!!!! And, yay, here too for seeing you in Open Diary again 🙂 Bunches of Hugs

December 6, 2017

Awww! Happy anniversary!! And how did you manage not to age??

January 2, 2018

So beautiful! do you still make those little itty bitties?

June 12, 2018

@teaparty Hey!  Are you writing here again?  I see you on FB but not Prosebox…where I am.

Cat
January 14, 2018

Hi you!! Great to hear your voice again after five years. Are you going to keep writing?

Cat
January 21, 2018

Ryns: Thank you! I’ve missed your sage words of advice 🙂

January 27, 2018

What a wonderful couple you are! I wish you both much happiness and a beautiful next 25 years.

February 11, 2018

How lucky you are. I once had a great man who turned me into mush too. We didn’t make it to 25 years….Congrats to you both!

February 11, 2018

PS. I love these two photos together.

February 13, 2018

This is so you, utterly and completely you!

I’m so glad you haven’t changed.

February 13, 2018

Oh I’ve missed you- congratulations several months late. xx

February 19, 2018

RYN: thank you so much for finding me again. You are still so very beautiful. I am glad you have found your soulmate.

March 16, 2018

I just rediscovered OD is back. You were one of my favs. Hope you continue to write.

June 12, 2018

You two are a living example of true love!