Open Diary pictures

[11:36 pm] I posted some photos of Open Diary on Prose Box. I’ll link the entry in case anyone wants to take a stroll down  memory lane.

https://www.prosebox.net/entry/661915/open-diary-pics/

I’ve missed this place. I like Prose Box but this is where it all started; towards the end of 1998. I remember how it all started. I had just gotten out of school. I sat at my desktop and got on MSN chat or something like that. I was talking to a girl that I met via email who told me to make a Free Open Diary so that I could leave a note on her entry.

Do you know what my first diary name was?

White Knight… Yeah I’m going to let that sink in. What was I thinking?! Thinking back on it I can’t believe the name was available.

I eventually changed it to what it is now after hearing the song “Born Slippy” by Underworld. He goes, “Drive boy dog boy dirty numb angelboy” and it stuck.

Fast forward from 15/16 to 33 and I’m here on my couch in a stinky apartment listening to the acoustic version of “Big Jet Plane” by Angus & Julia Stone.

Being back is like going back to your childhood home. It’s a different color and bricked over. It’s different but it’s still your house.

That’s what it’s like being back.

Open Diary is back and so are The X Files. What year is it?!

If Prose Box got shut down we’d all be sad. Some people couldn’t adapt. For me it was always about getting it out. I never wrote stuff to amuse people. I wrote for myself. I write to get all of the toxins out of my system.

Even to this day I don’t have any friends. Well, maybe a few but they’re always busy. We’re not kids anymore.

 

Log in to write a note
January 28, 2018

I always love seeing old pictures of the site like that!

January 28, 2018

@thediarymaster The site has come a long way.

January 28, 2018

OMG, I “talked” to so many OD-ers via MSN messenger back in the day. The notification sound used to give me such a thrill. Ah, memories! 😂

January 28, 2018

@kellzbellz Times were so simple back then. I can’t believe we made it! Now days it’s all don’t talk to people online. Good times.