Always and Forever

“Love never dies. Love will continue. Love keeps on beating when you’re gone. Love never dies once it is in you. Life may be fleeting; love lives on…” 
~ Andrew Lloyd Webber

 

 

My husband passed away four years ago, and on most days, I can accept that his time had come. He is finally free from years of pain and suffering, free to rest in our precious Lord’s loving arms until we meet again. Life goes on, and I am blessed by the love and comfort given to me by family and friends. But sometimes… in the hush of night or when the morning sun rises to greet a new day or when I hear a special song, I find myself reaching out to feel his physical presence around me once more.

 

I’m just trying to breathe

To let go of this grief

To breathe in the clean scent of each day

Not to hesitate or turn away

To finally let go of the past

And step out in my own shoes at last

Easy to say, yet sometimes difficult to do

My entire world revolved around you

A new dawn is breaking

But my heart is aching

Longing to turn back to the life I knew

When each day began and ended with you

Just trying to breathe and not to hide

Knowing you are still here by my side

 

Happy Heavenly Anniversary My Beloved Husband

June 2, 2020 (Our 49th)

Log in to write a note
June 2, 2020

Im sorry for your loss.  Time Im sure heals the grief a bit but can never take away the fact that you loved him and the void you have not having him in your life.   Take care.

June 2, 2020

@fortunes_fool_21 Thank you for your kind note. I’m holding onto the happy memories that we built over a lifetime. Life is good. Thank you again and take care also.

June 2, 2020

Beautiful 💕

June 2, 2020

@ethel Thank you and thank you for stopping by my diary. I don’t post often but used to be on OD for over 10+ years. Take care

June 2, 2020

I’m sorry for your loss! This was beautifully written! I’m sure hhour husband is always looking down in you and loving you just as much!

June 2, 2020

@mamaqueenie518 Aww… Thank you. Yes, I feel his presence always. 😊

kat
June 2, 2020

I am so sorry for your great loss! he lives within your heart

June 2, 2020

@kaliko Thank you Kat. He suffered for years with severe COPD and heart problems, so I know he’s in a better place now. Yes, he will always be forever in my heart.

June 2, 2020

I’m sorry. This was a beautiful tribute to him, and to your marriage.

June 2, 2020

@catholicchristian Thank you for your kind note. We had many wonderful years together… Ups and downs like any long term marriage, but we weathered them all and came out the better because of it.

June 2, 2020

Happy anniversary!  *Hugs* to you.  Beautifully written tribute to your husband.

June 2, 2020

@the_one_and_only Thank you!  He is fully deserving of it.  A good man and I was (am) blessed to have him in my life.  Thanks for stopping by my diary.

June 2, 2020

HUGS… I have the same exact feelings and reaction to my Mom’s absence. You can never really let go.  My quote, though, maybe not from the same noteworthy source, is, “When the people we love are stolen from us, the way to have them live on is never to stop loving them. Buildings burn, people die, but real love is forever“.  (From the script of “The Crow”).

June 3, 2020

@thenerve Thanks.  I love your quote.  Yes, “Real love is forever.”

I think we greatly miss all those who are now physically absent from our lives.  I wish we could spend even one more day with them.  (((Hugs))) to you too.  Take care

June 3, 2020

@adrift – Oh, I would settle for 30 seconds…  :*(

June 3, 2020

What a tender, beautiful,  and  deeply moving memorial poem to your husband.  Time’s passage partially assuages our grief, but how deeply we miss our departed loved ones.

June 3, 2020

@oswego  Thank you.  Life goes on even while we greatly miss those who are no longer physically with us.  I know you can relate.  Grief comes in moments, often unexpectedly. But Life is good and I treasure and I appreciate each day.

Take care my friend.

Take care