What’s Your Story

 

Recently Netflix and I had a date night, and I got to choose the movie. I choose The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society. It’s a story set in England on the Island of Guernsey in the years following WWII. A young successful writer, Juliet Ashton, yearns to write something more meaningful than her highly popular comedic articles written under her pen name, Izzy Bickerstuff. An opportunity arises when she receives a letter from Dawsey Adams, a resident of Guernsey and a member of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

I’ve watched this movie a few times. It’s one of my favorites for several reasons. I love that the main characters Juliet and Dawsey, first connected because of their shared love of books. I’ve always loved to read. One of my fondest memories is reading in a hammock that was strung between two trees that bordered a brook which ran across my parent’s rural property in Maine. There’s nothing quite like reading with the sounds of nature as your background music.

In my opinion, this movie has everything… romance, heartache, a little history, and a cast of characters, each with their own story to tell. This is another reason why I love this movie. We often look at others and instantly form an opinion about them without ever knowing their true stories. This was made evident to me when I attended a memorial (before Covid19) of a neighbor that I lived next to for over 30 years. I thought we knew each other well. Our kids went to school together, played together and we shared in neighborhood get-togethers. But I learned so much about this man and his life’s story while watching a video put together by his loving family. It made me think of the many people, including my parents and grandparents, who have been in my life and all the questions that I didn’t ask them. Each of us has a story. Each of us comes with a history that has helped shape who we are today. I hope as I go forward, I remember to listen more heartfully to the stories of all those I meet along the way.

 

Log in to write a note
May 19, 2020

I just looked up this movie you’re talking about and wow yes it looks so good! I’ll definitely have to watch it soon!

May 19, 2020

@storyreader12351 Hope you enjoy it. 😊

kat
May 19, 2020

Now I want to watch it!

May 19, 2020

@kaliko I hope you enjoy it. It’s one of my favorites. 😊

May 19, 2020

That is poetically beautiful!

May 19, 2020

@littleavocado  You are too kind. 😊

May 20, 2020

@adrift 🙂

May 20, 2020

I love that movie as a book, first.  Loved it so much.

May 20, 2020

@catholicchristian  I do too. My granddaughter walks in and says, “Really Gram, are you watching that movie again?” ha ha   Seriously though, she and her friends love it too.

May 20, 2020

This is a great entry!  I have added the movie to my Netflix list.  Loved your story about the neighbor’s memorial service and how you realized there is so much more to know about people we think we know.  Everyone’s story is rich and complex.  I’m glad OD has been around so long and that I have been able to tell my stories here for so many years.

May 20, 2020

@oswego  Yes, OD was (is) a great place where so many of us have shared our stories or creative efforts.  I missed it the years that I wasn’t here.  So many lost connections.  I hope more will return. I’m thankful for our friendship over the years.  Your posts (and photos) have always been a refuge for me.  So glad that you are still here, my friend.

Take good care.

May 22, 2020

I loved the book. Didn’t know they made a film. Toobad I don’t have Netflix. 😕

May 25, 2020

I think I might give that a watch. I liked this entry a lot, and you’re right; we don’t ask others about their lives enough, do we? I think it’s often that we assume that our questions might be received as prying or just being plain nosey – but really, most of us like to talk about ourselves, given the opportunity, right?

May 25, 2020

@mrroflcopter  Thank you for stopping by to read my post. Yes, I agree. Given the opportunity, most of us enjoy talking about ourselves, but I’ve learned over my many years to listen more. And, I am the happier for it. 😊

June 2, 2020

I love the tone of this entry.   You are absolutely right, you never will know the full story of someones life.  However we sometimes ask the right questions and catch someone on a day where they feel like sharing themselves and their stories and we feel privileged to hear it.

I have wanted to watch that movie, maybe i just might now.

June 2, 2020

@fortunes_fool_21  I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. Lots of unique individuals facing challenging times.  Take care

June 3, 2020

I watched that film a few weeks ago and loved it.

Loved hearing of the memory of you reading in the hammock.  What a special reading spot (I’d park myself there at any given opportunity).

My dad suffered from dementia in his final years.  Although it was awful to witness him losing his short term memory his long term memory remained intact and we spent many hours talking about his childhood and his parents (my grandparents who died before I was born).  I treasure those stories now…..stories I would never have known otherwise.  You are absolutely right.  Every single one of us has a story to tell.    I look forward to reading some of yours.

June 3, 2020

@cluinn  Thank you for your kind note.

Sorry to hear about your dad, but what a treasure that he shared his stories with you.  I wish that my family had shared much more of our history.  I’ve discovered some of it via online sources, but I would have loved hearing it from their own perspectives.

Thanks again for stopping by. Take care