Unconditional Love

For the last couple of days, I’ve been taking care of our precious fur baby. I just hate it when he has a flare-up. A few days ago, after enjoying his typical morning and early afternoon activities, our dog suddenly collapsed. He followed me into a room I was rearranging, and as I turned toward the hallway, I saw him sprawled out on the floor. Unfortunately, my granddaughter was also present. Her parents got her this dog as a puppy when she was very young. One of my favorite photos is of her curled up asleep alongside her little puppy in his puppy bed. He is 13 years old now and has severe arthritis in his hips, not that unusual with older larger breeds. He’s a goofy, lovable, yellow lab. Needless to say my granddaughter was very upset. Luckily, our vet responded immediately prescribed some meds, and now our fur baby is beginning to feel better.

Our animals aren’t pets, they are family. They support us unconditionally through all of the twists and turns in our lives. My previous dog, a German Shepherd mix, was with me through many challenges in my life, my husband’s illnesses, his death, my cancer and recovery, my eventual move to my daughter’s home and so much more. She was my constant companion, loving and supporting me through every challenge. She also suffered from health problems as she advanced in age.  I spent many a day and/or night comforting her when seizures would flare unexpectantly. Although smaller than the average German Shepherd, her heart and her capacity to love were larger than anything I can imagine. I miss her every day, but I think “Goofy” realizes that. He knew her briefly when we first moved here, and after her death, he often still looked for her. Goofy makes me smile daily and reminds me always of the unconditional love that these fur babies give us.

Log in to write a note
May 5, 2020

My dogs are family too! They are like my children now that my human children are grown. I have a Pitbull named Tito. He is a yr and half old. And I have a Shepherd/pug mix who is we think about 12yrs old now. I love them to death! I’d do anything for them. 

May 5, 2020

@mamaqueenie518  A Shepherd/pug mix… that’s an interesting combination.  I will admit that I am partial to German Shepherds. Most of my dogs have always been rescue dogs.  I can’t remember a time when I didn’t have one.  They are definitely our family.

kat
May 5, 2020

fur babies bring us the most special kind of love and joy!

May 5, 2020

@kaliko  Yes! Unconditional love always!

May 5, 2020

Glad he’s better!! We think alike. I’ve let go of friendships who have tried making me put my kids second. Not gonna happen. I stay away from those who laugh when I say they’re my family and those who tell me “it’s not the same as a human child, you can’t compare” or “would you defend your animal first or my [human] child?” (because the answer is obvious!).  Folks who don’t understand the concept, in my eyes, are not worth keeping around.

May 5, 2020

@thenerve  Luckily, my friends feel the same way about theirs, maybe because for the most part, I’ve lived in rural areas.  My previous dog could read my emotions far quicker than anyone else.  She was always there for me.

May 6, 2020

Of course they’re family!! I’ve never had a “pet”, only 4 legged children.

I have a decal on my car that says: ” All my children have 4 paws”

I’m glad Goofy is doing better.

May 6, 2020

@gypsywynd  Love that sticker! Goofy is doing better.  Still watching him closely though.

May 7, 2020

A beautiful and touching entry, and so true. What a gift unconditional love is!

My friend, I want to tell you again how happy I am that you are once again writing here.  It’s a blessing for me, and others,  for sure.

Keep well and safe!

May 7, 2020

@oswego Thank you for your kind words. You have been a steadfast friend for many years. I appreciate your friendship and support. 😊