Headache.

 Monday I got a bit of a headache. Took some basic pain pills, ignored it. Monday evening I went for my walk, had a few bursts of jogging. My headache was still there when I got home, but I figured I hadn’t had much water, plus the electrician was hammering away until 8:30pm.

Woke up Tuesday morning and my hands were numb. I couldn’t read anything. Or, I thought I could, I just wasn’t absorbing it. When I was showering my teeth felt like they were caving into the middle of my mouth. Numb mouth.

Drove to work, took a detour hoping that some food might help. Stuttered embarrassingly through my drive through order, I just wanted to say, "AND A LARGE COKE, THANKS!"

Got to work and knew it wasn’t going to end well when it took me 30 minutes to empty the dishwasher. I started crying, and my head having stabbing pains. I called my boss, a sobbing mess, and told him I had to go home. He asked if I was okay to drive and I said yes, but I wasn’t okay to drive. He talked me into calling my brother to come and get me, so I did that.

My brother drove me home and I slurred and stumbled my words the whole way home. He took the longest fucking way, I swear.

As I walked towards the house I picked up a bucket from the rubbish pile. This is the only time I have ever been glad that my mother keeps a pile of random rubbish behind her house. This one had been mine, and was stacked in between two others. I lay on the bed for a minute or two, knowing I was going to puke. And boy, did I puke. I got up and took the bucket upstairs to the bathroom to tip it down the toilet, and wash it out. In the process I splattered puke on the bathtub, but I didn’t notice.

Got into pyjamas, puked again. Took the super-mega-strength pain pills and tried to sleep. Woke an hour later, worse. I couldn’t see clearly, couldn’t stay standing but couldn’t lie down with my head the way it was. I was starting to feel scared, because nothing was helping, I was getting worse. My phone credit had expired the night before, so I sent my mother the following email:

"psease as cass asaps hust"

  • please call asap hurry

I knew it wasn’t perfect, because I could hardly see, and my hands weren’t doing what I asked them to. But I really thought I had "please" right. And I promptly threw up.

She called me and I was just crying and asking her to come home and get me. She left work right away and came home. I dragged myself into some clothes while she was waiting – turned out to be a pair of jeans that is 2 sizes too big for me now, a Rolling Stones t-shirt that belonged to M when he was 15 and a teal sweatshirt.

We drove to the hospital and I was trying to tell her about the "clean pills" I had taken and how they hadn’t worked. The triage nurse asked me what my symptoms were and I said, "I can’t stalk properly". Nothing would come out right, all I could manage were words that sort of sounded right. It’s fucking terrifying.

They fed me a cocktail of pills to stop the vomiting and ease the headache. When that didn’t work, they tried something else and I lay in a room off to the side with my head under a blanket. More pills, and a cup of something gross, probably aspirin. They gave me a script for some different migraine pills and I went home.

Tossed and turned all night. Whatever they gave me was relaxing me to the point of sleep, then tossing me awake again.

Today I am better, and I got up slowly and went to work. I should have stayed home, considering I had a lot of problems typing and speaking (even typing this has taken the better part of an hour, and I normally type 80+ words per hour). But what choice did I have? Potter around in an air conditioned office, or sit at home all day in a stuffy room with a builder tearing the place apart in the next room over.

I will be fine tomorrow, I am just upset about it all. Nothing helped. Nothing. This wasn’t just a headache, wasn’t just a migraine. It’s like my head was being jackhammered apart, and I was in this little bubble where nothing makes sense, I can’t express myself or get away from it.

Log in to write a note

That is absolutely terrifying! The fact it’s affecting your speech and sensation freaks the **** out of me! I know you’ve already had tests done, but surely they could send you for more, in case something important has changed? I’m so glad you didn’t drive home from work.

September 5, 2013

Holy crap, that’s not cool. Fingers crossed it was a one off thing. How scary! Hope you’re doing okay! Take days off work if you need it!!

You need to go back to a Dr and get tested for EVERYTHING! If this is neurological it could be very dangerous. Please don’t just hope it will go away if you wait it out, get yourself checked by a professional. Find out WHY! Hugs

September 6, 2013

Omg, that sounds unbelievably scary!! Did they run any tests or just give you a script? I can’t even begin to fathom how much that hurt, if your speech was affected and you couldn’t walk. They need to make sure it’s not something serious!!

September 7, 2013

That’s awesome, good luck on losing the weight =)

September 7, 2013

ps hope you feel better <3 that is scary

September 9, 2013

That’s really scary. Idk if you can afford it, because it’s easy for us to sit here and tell you to go get checked out, but if you can… you should. You never know how serious something could be. Or how simply it could be taken care of unless you’re willing and able to put the money and effort towards finding out.