Tuesday

 I am pleased to see a couple more of my OD friends popping up on Prosebox.  Some haven’t written entries yet, but I am putting them in my bookmarks, ready to go.
 
Tuesday was okay.  I have $0.55 cents to my name, so I had a can of soup for breakfast.  So disturbing.  But, at least I had a meal.  I tend to keep a couple of cans handy, and I have a bunch of instant noodles (mi goreng), and the usual stock of breakfast bars.  I am looking forward to being paid tomorrow, very much, because I will be caught up.  I can send M the usual $300 ($400 this week, because he has his share of bills to pay), I can send a little money to my mother, I can send a box to the us (by sea mail, which is nice and cheap, although it takes 3 months) and I will have enough to pay for my airport parking, and have my usual scratch.  Dad has said he will give me $100 towards my flights, but I don’t want to count that until I have it in my hand.  Not that he will rip me off, but he may very well forget, and I wouldn’t hold it against him.  
 
Phew.  
 
Work is good.  I have been feeling short tempered with my replacement this week.  I feel like every 5 minutes she is calling me to check something or answer a question for her and I can’t get anything done.  I am literally about to start my period, so I’m sure that is the reason.  She is very polite and thanks me for the help, I just wish she would have a little more confidence, or take a chance.  Almost everything she does is in draft for the solicitors to check over anyway, so it’s not something to worry about.  That said, she is studying legal secretary manuals and taking textbooks home to read, so she is showing initiative.  I think I am just being a bit psychotic due to PMS. 
 
Bit of a headache tonight.  I am, as usual, planning an early night, but I know I will sit in bed watching tv.  I try to wear myself out so I can sleep through the night, but it just doesn’t work. Just have to wait on a load of washing to finish, so I can hang it out on my indoor line.  I am dumb and forgot to wash my jumpers and cardigans on the weekend, so I have no warm clothes to take to my Dad’s house.  He is in a warmer state, but it is winter. 
 
Oh boy.  
 
One last thing.  A bit of a story.  One of my solicitors hates the taste of the tap water in the office and constantly begs for a water filter.  She had a very busy week the other week filling in for my boss and the other solicitor in our department.  As a "reward", my boss’ wife sent in a 10L jug of water with a tap on it.  (My boss was disgusted because he thinks bottled water is for yuppies – each to their own.  I prefer tap, but I buy bottled water for portability and refill the bottles)  So this solicitor has been pretty chuffed and happily drinking her water.  I put in some long hours myself last week, so I got sent a 10L jug of water as well (even though I barely drink water, but am constantly trying to improve on that).  My boss and I drank 1L out of it, then poured in a cordial concentrate (Cottees Coola, for the Aussies).  Brilliant!  We now have 10L of delicious cordial to drink!  The solicitor is disgusted with us, so we jammed it into the fridge next to her jug.  It’s pretty much the greatest thing ever, and I am getting a small portion of water with each glass 😉

Log in to write a note

Top idea with the cordial! Pretty much the only way I’ll drink water too. I wonder if I should have a poke around on prosebox…

August 20, 2013

Making it into cordial was the best idea!