Looking for work

As of a couple+ months ago, I am looking for work again.

I got caught in a company wide layoff. I was one of about 30 people across multiple data centers that got the axe. From the paperwork, it was obvious that it was the first of two waves. I warned people about that.

It wasn’t even personal. The accountants in India (company headquarters) forced managers to get rid of people. They didn’t care who.

I was the only person in my data center in my position. When I left it caused headaches for those who had to pick up the slack and weren’t qualified to do so. Sad.

I have been hitting the job boards, sending out my resume, etc. The usual. I’ve gotten interview or three, but nothing yet. It’s slow because I am looking for full time/perm. I’m not one of those who job hop. When I give my loyalty to a company, it ~stays~ there.

I have another interview tomorrow. It looks promising.

Log in to write a note
November 26, 2013

<3

November 26, 2013

Nice to hear from you! I’ve got my fingers crossed 🙂

November 26, 2013

Sorry to hear that, and good luck. I was laid off in 2008 and it really sent me on an adventure of going back to school, living in a new country, moving back here, then starting an entirely different career. I was terrified at the time, but now that I went through it I consider it a blessing in disguise.