Somedays I just need space

I wouldn’t say I’m the most affectionate person out there. I have no issues with cuddling with my kids or any of the kids I know for that matter. Even with my husband however, I wouldn’t say I’m over affectionate. Its just not who I am and I don’t mean for it to be there way. I work really hard to make sure I meet my husband in the middle. He’s not an over affectionate person either, he’s just a little more than I am.

There are sometimes however I get in these moods where I just need some time to my self. I love my family but in those moments I would prefer them just give me a little pace and let me sit alone or read my book. I feel bad because I will still hug on them or kiss their face when they want to cuddle or just need some time with me. My whole body cringes at times and I could the seconds until I’m not being touched anymore.

I know that makes me sound like a bad person and I truly cannot help it. There are times when I feel like that way and my husband wants to kiss me or sit with me and I don’t have the heart to tell him I’m just not feeling in the mood for that. I sit there or I kiss him and again I can feel my body tense. I love my husband and I very much enjoy his touch in any form but there are times where I just cannot handle being touched at all.

Today was one of those days and I feel like a terrible person for feeling that way.  I tried so hard to  hide it because I didn’t want him to feel like he did something wrong, because it had nothing to do with him at all.

Most of the time when I feel like this I listen to an audio book or I read and at times write as well. Nothing seems to be helping though and I’m at a loss at this point.

Log in to write a note
March 23, 2024

I can relate somewhat. I can go either way, to be honest. There are times I love affection, yet other times when I can’t stand even being around people. I’m quite the contradiction I suppose. It’s not always easy for most people to understand that someone could not always crave affection. I have always believed it has a lot to do wit lh the way we are raised. My parents were the textbook example of non-affection.  We never even said I love you to eachother, and affection was essentially taboo in our family. I just think that’s the way some people are. It doesn’t mean they don’t love you. Some just have a difficult time being vulnerable

March 26, 2024

@ashestoashes  I can agree with you. My family is more on the affectionate side, everyone makes a point of saying I love you. I think it became more of a thing after my brother passed. I on the other hand can’t always be that way.